March Mystery Rug AGA-Day 6/Sunnie – Rug Hooking

This rug is really fun…using up a lot of leftover woolworms too…  I love that..!!!  🙂

If you haven’t looked at old fraktur designs before, I hope you will enjoy checking them out..!!    (Try “Google-ing” “Pictures of Fraktur Art” and you will see which websites to visit.  )  

The designs are naive, colourful and, in some ways, simple…but there are some motifs featuring amazing small detail..!!!  Fraktur means “broken letters” referring to the style of lettering.  But now, the term “Fraktur” has come to mean the designs as well.  These drawings and paintings were done to celebrate life events, births, deaths, marriages, good work in school, etc.  some of the artists are unknown, some of the works are attributed to a certain artist and some are the works of known artists.  But I think you would enjoy seeing them!

By the Way…Some visitors have asked me privately if they can ask me questions about rug hooking in their comments!  By all means, ask away!!!  If I don’t know the answer, I’ll try to get it for you.  🙂  Most of us who love rug hooking or creative work are always happy to answer questions about it…and about why we are doing what we do.   So if I can help, I’ll try!!!

Here is progress on Day 6…

This photo shows the different values of the yellow/gold I am using in the background.  If you have a lot of leftovers from projects (as I do!!!) a background like this is fun to do and uses them up pretty fast..!!  Simply sort all the strips close in value and even add a few darker and lighter for interest and motion.  I can use the value differences on this background because the motifs are large, bold and colourful and the background won’t overpower them!!  LOL

 Below are two examples of other backgrounds I have done…these have quieter value contrasts then the one I am working on now!

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  😉 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

Leave a Reply

