Snow Rug-Day 1/Sunnie – Rug Hooking

Now I know you are going to laugh at me for this…but when gathering materials for my next Mystery rug and continuing to clean up and go through all my books, patterns, notebooks of drawings, fabrics, wools, etc. ,  I came across this little drawing from years ago!  I was doing several snowman sketches at the time (I used another snowman sketch for my Seasons Banner that was a Blog rug earlier this year.) and planned to do this one as a wall piece about 18 x 18 inches.  However, yesterday, it snowed here and I took it as a sign (!!!) that I was supposed to hook my Snow rug NOW…before doing my Mystery rug!!!  And…to do it in the 24 x 24 format.  🙂

I’ve been asked what I’ll do with all these 24 x 24 rugs…and I will just hang them and change the ones I show from time to time.  But after doing the Fraktur rug “A Golden Afternoon” (a rug that could be “Summer”)…I thought I could do a Winter, Autumn and Spring in the 24 x 24 size.  They would be fun to change with the seasons!!!

So here we go on Day 1 of the “Snow” rug for “Winter”!!  LOL

I am doing a lot of rugs at this time, as I am trying to use up a lot of my leftovers and small  pieces of wool so I don’t have to move it when we take the next step in our lives!!!  🙂

As I’ve said before here on my Blog…Husband and I are downsizing and preparing ourselves and our house to make a change in our living arrangements!  We have loved living here in our little 100-year-old + farmhouse down a country lane (on 3 1/2 acres)  here in Vermont for over 20 years.  But now that Joe is 80, it is harder to grow a big garden and keep up with the outside work.  He is also restoring a 1929 Chevy in the barn!!!!   So we hope at the end of this year or next year, we can find someone who will enjoy living here in the country as much as we have and sell our house to them.  We will then get something that is easier for us to care for, both inside and outside.   My studio upstairs is perfect for my business and would be great for a quilter, rug hooker, or other craftsperson.   The barn has been Joe’s woodworking and antique car restoration “shop”…(the garage too) and we even have a little summerhouse tucked away in the trees.   So that is why I am going through everything, getting rid of “stuff” (LOL) and hooking too!!!

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  😉

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

5 thoughts on “Snow Rug-Day 1/Sunnie – Rug Hooking”

  1. A snow/seasonal rug is a great idea. Maybe your beautiful rugs also tell the story of all the years you have lived in your farmhouse, so instead of a photo album, you could cover the walls of a room in your new home with hand-made history.

      1. LOL…I’ve lost count..!!! I’m so old now that soon I won’t even be able to rermember!!! I’ll probably think I’ve just started!…and wonder how all those rugs got into my little house!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

