Snow Rug-Day 3/Sunnie – Rug Hooking

I worked more on the scarf today and am trying to make it look like the knitted scarves we wear in the Winter!!!   🙂 

Also, you can see that I am using a mottled and dipped blue for the background…using the darker blue next to the light parts of the figure and the lighter parts next to the darker!  I’m doing this to set off the main motifs…we’ll see if I get the effect I want when the piece is finished!  I am using leftovers in the snowman body, tucking them in here and there for “shadows”  or “highlights” and hooking the body so it looks rounded…(at least is is Supposed to look rounded!!!!)  LOL

I’m having such fun with this one and might make it into a pattern for you if there is any interest.  A good pattern for beginners as the motifs are large, 24 x 24 size goes along quite fast and fun things can be done with the clothing!!!   We’ll see after the piece is done.  🙂

Here is progress on Day 3…

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  😉 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

3 thoughts on “Snow Rug-Day 3/Sunnie – Rug Hooking”

Leave a Reply

