Snow Rug-Day5/Sunnie – Rug Hooking

I was able to get some hooking in yesterday even though we went to New Hampshire for errands, etc.  🙂

However, when I am riding in a car, I take along my rugs/chairpads for “edge finishing”… sewing on the rug tape by hand and whipping the edge with yarn!  It is surprising how much you can get done in the car.  Except for the corners, it is pretty “mindless” work so you can see the scenery, talk, listen to music…etc.  but your hands are busy.  I finished one chairpad and almost all of a med sized rug!!!  Hooray!

This snow rug is really enjoyable and here is my progress on Day 5:

I just learned how to stitch photos together …so I wanted to show you the way I did the tree.  The smaller photo on the left shows the treetop the way I hooked it first.  I decided that it looked a bit “blobby” when seen from a distance so I decided to put some lighter strips in…just as I did on the lower part of the tree.  I like it better with the lighter strips added.

By the way…Yesterday’s Day 4 post had the lower part of the Snowmen shown.  I wanted to show you what I did to, I think (!!) make it better!!!

The photo on the right shows the hooking as I did it first.  However, the snowman on the right is standing in front of  the snowman on the left..!!!  When you look at the right hand photo, it isn’t clear that one is in front of the other.  Also, I have gone from a rounded body to a straight line divider.   Sooo…I pulled out the strips between the snowmen bodies, put in a dark, curved line to move the snowman on the right out front (!!!), and hooked my curved strips in to finish the bottom of the rug!  Do you see the difference?  I am much happier with the corrections!!

When I post tomorrow, I think you will be able to see my corrections better!

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie   😉

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

Leave a Reply

