Snow Rug-Day 7/Sunnie – Rug Hooking

Hooray…I was able to complete the lower left side of the rug, finishing the tree and the background..!!   And…the smaller snowman’s hat!!!  🙂

I forgot to tell you that my original design for this piece was  a rectangle with just the two snowmen at the bottom of the rug.  I thought it would be a fun pattern for Winter and might be a great rug for a child’s room as it is bright and whimsical.  🙂  However, as you know, I am working on many 24 x 24 inch rugs as I love this format and can experiment without having to take the time to hook a larger rug. ( I  just added a third snowman!)    I    can expand my designs to be larger and/or a rectangle  (instead of the square) but I can see what my “to-be-patterns” look like in this format.  🙂  If I offer a pattern for sale (I do a few) I like to hook it myself first to get out any “glitches”!!!  LOL  

Here is my Progress on Day 7…

I thought that this pattern might be fun to offer for sale as it could be personalized…for instance hooking the clothing to look like a child’s vest,coat or scarf.  Or hooking the hat or cap to look like one a child wears.  Initials could be put at the end of the scarves  too.  Changing a designer’s pattern to suit yourself  (or to personalize it for someone!)  is great.   Or…let’s say that you thought the twig hands might be frightening to a young child!!!  Simply redraw them to make rounded mittens!!!  Don’t be afraid to do this if it makes the pattern easier or more pleasing to you!!!

Of course, whenever you do this to a pattern, it is still the pattern that is copyrighted by the designer…but when you show it or on your label for the  back of the rug, you simply say that it is:  (for instance)…LOL

 “Designed by Mertalina Frangcastle” .. “Adapted by Ellbertina De Snead”  🙂

Pretty simple…yes?  You are purchasing the pattern from the designer, giving her/him credit for the design and adapting it to suit yourself!  🙂

Lovely sunshine here in the Kingdom today!  Hope you have a lovely day too!  Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  😉

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “Snow Rug-Day 7/Sunnie – Rug Hooking”

Leave a Reply

