Snow Rug-Day 9/Sunnie – Rug Hooking

Quick post today!  🙂

I am going “around the bend” (LOL)…no, I haven’t lost my mind!!!!…on the upper right side of the rug today!    Normally, I would not use a solid colour for my background as I like the varied look of plaids or spot dyes, etc….but I am using this wool because I’m not very fond of it..!! 

I like working with wool that is soft after the washing and lightly felting…but this wool is some I bought without seeing and handling it a few years ago, and it was rather stiff even before washing.  I think it would be fine for a #3 or very narrow cut, but I use many different cuts and it is just not my favourite!!!  🙂   So I’m using it up!!!  I love the colour but not the wool..!

Here is progress on Day (…

Now as you who do a lot of rug hooking know, this rug could be done in all wide cuts…#8 cut and above, or it could be done in all #3-#4 narrow cuts with a lot more realism and detail.  My rather funky (!!) hand-drawn stars could be perfectly drawn and hooked and the sky could be shaded with subtle touches of colour.  My work is mostly done in the “folk art” style…and there is not a lot of realism or many tiny details.   But this rug is not “primitive” – at least how I define the word.  More “wide-cut” than primitive!  LOL

Hope you have a happy and productive day today!  Happy Hookng!  Sunnie  😉

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

Leave a Reply

