Snow Day Rug-Day 12- Finished!/Sunnie – Rug Hooking

Hooray!!!!  Couldn’t post yesterday but I had time to finish this rug!!  🙂

I used up a LOT of that blue wool…(loved the colour, disliked the “stiff” feel!!)…and had a lot of fun!  Now that our snow seems to be over (!!!) I can enjoy my 24 x 24 rug without having to go out and shovel..!!!  LOL   This is my fourth 24 x 24 rug and I’ll be starting on #5 in a few days!  🙂 

One of my next 24 x 24 rugs will be my adaptation of one of Magdalena Briner Eby’s wonderful rugs, designed and hooked by her in the period of the Civil War.  I also have a “Mystery Rug” and another rug drawn out in the 24 square format.  😉    I’m going to have a great time hooking!!!

Here is my snow rug titled…”Three Snow Guys”….finished..!!!

(I like to think of them as lifelong friends who get together for some fun and support in life…however, the real snow guys melt every year!!!   So their “lifelong” friendship doesn’t last too long!!!  LOL   But mine will be together for a long, long time!!)  🙂

This is a simple, unsophisticated  rug with small amounts of shading and easy colour choices. 

The “in person” rug here  at home has both #6 and #8 strips in the blue sky to add some texture since the colour is a solid blue!    You can see it up close.  I almost never use a solid colour so it was a bit difficult for me to hook with so much “sameness…but you can see that I added a spot-dyed blue around the stars (which were also spot-dyed!!!) and, of course, the dyed wool used in the lower paart of the piece.

I’m excited to start my new project…so, away we go!!!  LOL

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  😉

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

6 thoughts on “Snow Day Rug-Day 12- Finished!/Sunnie – Rug Hooking”

    1. Thank you, Florence! This was so easy and fun…except for that blue sky wool that was a little stiff to work with!!! 🙂 LOL
      I’m excited about the next rugs I’ll be doing too…and can’t wait to get started!! But i should clean up after this rug and put things away first!
      Hugs to you, Sunnie 😉

  1. Miss Sunnie! You’ve done it again! So cute and so fast! You’ll be able to carpet your floors with 2×2 rugs ~ won’t that be fun!! Hook on! Wool sister!

Leave a Reply

