New Hooked Rug-Day 3/LT&M/Sunnie -” Magdalena style”

I think I am making good progress on my “Magdalena-style” rug!!!  I am having a wonderful time cleaning out my leftover woolworms and designing some of the rug as I go!!!  🙂

Since this is my own adaptation of this style, I am adding some things that Magdalena didn’t have in the rugs I’ve seen…I’m putting in a cane, a shoe and a top hat along with my animals, leaves and flowers!!!  LOL  (Why?…you ask!!   Well, it just seemed the thing to do!!!!)  LOL

Here is my progress on Day 3:

I have lightened the picture a bit so you can see all the different wools!  🙂

If you are hooking a “Magdalena-style” rug, I hope you are having a grand time too!  Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  😉

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “New Hooked Rug-Day 3/LT&M/Sunnie -” Magdalena style””

  1. Oh Sunnie…..
    You see why we love you????? This is absolutely darling. Good gosh, you are so brave with color. But then, I know that already. Everything looks so FRESH!!!!! So fun and exciting, just like you.
    BTW, how is that sweetheart of a husband doing???????
    I’m checking in every day to see what you are doing to make yourself (and us) smile.

    xoxoxoxoxo

    1. Thank you, dear Ter’e! : ) I think of you as a “sister in the wool”!!!!! And I appreciate so much your rug work and your encouragement of others! It is a nice gift you have!!!
      Hugs, Sunnie 😉

    1. Silvio, I don’t know why I was surprised to learn that some of our contemporary rugs are “antiqued” by those who pass them off as early rugs and sell them to unsuspecting collectors!!! 😦 Unfortunately, there are always those who choose to follow a criminal path rather than do some honest work!!
      On this particular adaptation of Magdalena’s style, it is fun to simply grab leftover wool strips here and there…and try for her freedom of colour and design in her rugs!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

