New Hooked Rug Day 13 Finished!/Sunnie – Magdalena Briner Eby style

Hooray!  I was able to finish my first Magdalena-style rug this morning!!!  🙂 

This adaptation was a great experience and I had fun looking at Magdalena Briner Eby’s wonderful rugs and trying out some of her motifs.    My rug is done in all wools, from a #4 cut to a #8.5 cut…but Magdalena used many different fabrics in her rugs, mostly from castoff clothing.

Here is my  24 x 24 inch Finished rug…”Lollypop Tree and Menagerie”,  done in the style of Magdalena Briner Eby…

Since this is a 24 x 24 inch rug and Magdalena’s rugs were usually larger, mine does not have the “boldness” of the originals and is not as “primitive”…but I hope she would see the same scrappy spirit and love of animals that she brought to her rugs!  🙂

There were several  things about doing my rug “Lollypop Tree and Menagerie” that I found particularly interesting.   One of them was what I call the “ghost leaves”…leaves where just the veins show up and the interior of the leaf just fades into the background.  they make a “soft statement” filling up space but not being too bold.

I also liked how Magdalena had her animals going “every which way”…and not arranged formally on her backing.   Although in the Magdalena book about her life and works, there is a statement by the “Domestic Zoo” photo that they are not sure if Magdalena actually hooked this particular rug.   But it seems to have her style and I used the rug as an inspiration and a source of motifs when doing my piece.

If you get a chance and are interested in Magdalena’s style of rug hooking, I hope you will try a reproduction or adaptation of her work yourself.  I found it to be tremendous fun!!!

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  😉

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “New Hooked Rug Day 13 Finished!/Sunnie – Magdalena Briner Eby style”

    1. Great, Monika!!! I agree on “Show and Tell”! Maybe we could put the rugs into a Magdalena-style Album in the RHDaily photo section!! I’m excited to see your progress too…love the crows!!!! Hugs, Sunnie 😉

    1. Thanks, Julia…I was happy with how it turned out and happy with all the scraps I used up!!! 🙂
      After all, Magdalena used leftovers and castoffs in her rugs…so it was good for me to do the same!!!
      Hugs, Sunnie 😉

Leave a Reply

