Medieval Angel Finally Finished/Sunnie-Rug Hooking

medieval angel24700Dear Friends:

I will gradually start blogging again…and here is the finished Medieval Angel.   I am glad to have had her to work on during the difficult times!!

It has been a long time since I posted on my Blog.   As you know from my earlier posts, my dear husband’s health, his surgery and my becoming a caregiver for him for the past year meant that I was not doing much in the way of hooking.   I did work on this angel, as I told you, while Joe was in the hospital and afterwards as he went through rehab, doctor visits, etc.   Sadly, Joe passed away on April 21st, just as we were in the process of moving to Oregon to be closer to our children and other family members.   We knew that he would not recover from the tumor but had hoped that he would have a few months here in the West to visit with family.

I am now living in King City, Oregon and adjusting to life alone.   Anyone who has had a loss of a dear family member or friend knows how I feel   However, Joe was such a good man and we had a wonderful and fun 25 years together.   I feel greatly blessed to have had him as a friend, partner, husband and lover for so many years!  : )

I will be creating more hooked pieces in the months and years to come and will post some of them here!

I hope you are all well and enjoying life, wherever in the world you may be!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  : )

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

12 thoughts on “Medieval Angel Finally Finished/Sunnie-Rug Hooking”

  1. I am so sorry for your loss, I was just getting to know you through the blog when you moved. I am so glad that you are back again. Your mid-evil angel is wonderful, it inspired me to one day visit the cemetary where long lost relatives are buried, I remembered some wonderful angels on the top thirds of the stones. Were you a member of the Vermont Guild?
    Carole

    1. Thank you Carole…yes, I was a member of the Vermont Green Mountain Rug Hooking Guild (still am) and enjoyed participating in the museum shows. I understand that there are many wonderful angels on the tombstones. I think some people take rubbings of the stones if it is permitted. Hugs, Sunnie : )

  2. Dear Sunnie – I am glad to see your return to the blogging and hooking world – I for one have missed you. The angel is beautiful and a lovely reminder of what you lost and where your husband is now. I lost my husband 13 years ago, and like you, was a caregiver for him during his illness. And, like you, there wasn’t time for much else, as I was also working a full time job too. Thank god my son and his family lived with us at the time, and they helped tremendously. My sincerest condolences on the passing of your husband, I hope you are able to find peace in your life.
    Debbie

    1. Thank you, Debbie! I was so fortunate to have 25 years with this good and kind man! I have good family and they are a wonderful help to me as your family was to you! I’ll work through the grief and not try to hold it back. We all need the time to mourn a loved one…and there will be peace as we walk that path.
      Hugs, Sunnie : )

  3. Hi Sunnie, I’m so glad to have you back blogging, it’s like you never left even though you have been absent from blogging, understandably, and are miles away from where you lived before, here you are again.

    I know it hasn’t been easy and there will still be time when it all comes back fresh in your mind like it was yesterday. although we never met, I think of you often, every time I see my little girl hanging upside down in the Forest Secret Challenge and when I look at my grandmother’s portrait from Grandmother’s trunk challenge. Maybe we can do some challenge hooking again, some day.

    We are having heavy rain including Sunday. A very soggy weekend.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Hi Julia…I always feel that we are “family”…even though we have never met. : ) We did have fun with the challenge rugs…I always think of our challenge members when I see those rugs!!!
      Hugs, Sunnie ; )

  4. I have had many losses through the years. I can say that the loss of a loved one never heals. It just scabs over. We continue life and live for the living. I love your rug and enjoy your blog.

  5. Oh my dear Sunnie! So often I’ve wondered about you and so sad to hear you lost your beloved Joe! I didn’t know what the outcome was and I’m sure your path has been a rough one. Thank goodness you can get back to hoooking ~ maybe that will give you comfort and help fill your time. So glad to see you back as you now find a new normal for your life! Sending you healing thoughts ~ welcome back, friend!

  6. Sunnie, as with so many others I am sorry for your lost. I live on the North Oregon Coast after living many years near King City so I know that there are many, many hookers in your area that would love to have you visit them when you are ready. Let me know if you want me to put you in touch with any of them.

    1. Thank you so much, Michelle…I appreciate you!!
      I am still working out all the things that a move entails, but will be ready when the weather gets cooler to get together with a hooking group!
      Hugs, Sunnie ; )

Leave a Reply

