Rug Hooking Break/Civil War Bride Quilt/Sunnie

Although I haven’t started a new rug hooking project quite yet (after finishing my Angel) I am also an “old” (and I do mean OLD) quilter!!  LOL

Since moving to Oregon, my time has mostly been filled with unpacking, organizing and sorting.   But my youngest daughter lives close by and she is a quilter.   So I have joined a Quilt Guild here and am enjoying sharing the quilting experience with her!   It has been hot this summer, so working on applique is easy.   100% cotton is not as hot as wool..!!!    So I am doing my version of the “Civil War Bride” quilt.   those of you who are quilters know which one I mean.   It is a wonderful applique quilt  and I am adapting some of the blocks to suit myself.  (why are you not surprised!!)  : )

Here are the 5 blocks I am working on at the moment:

adaptcivilwbride1

If you “Google” the Civil War Bride quilt, you will see that I am using some of the blocks for ideas but changing them to make it more personal.   I did buy the pattern from Threadbear in Australia.   She adapted the original pattern (square blocks) to blocks that are rectangles.   Instead of actually using the patterns, I am getting my ideas from them, cutting out the leaves, flowers and figures more “freehand” and using an assortment of fabrics.   It is great fun!

As I said, I now live in Oregon, just Southwest of Portland.   It is a retirement community, very nice and filled with trees and flowers.   We always hear birds and are closer to a semi-rural area which is great for me coming from rural Vermont.  : )

It is a community built on terraces and I have a lovely view of Mt. Hood from my little balcony…looking over my neighbors’ roofs on the street below.

mthoodjuly

I hope you are working away on your art or craft projects or simply enjoying summer or winter!   I plan to join a Rug Hooking Group in the Autumn and will enjoy working with my wools when the weather is rainy and cold!!!!

Enjoy!!!   Happy Hooking…and Quilting too!!!   Sunnie  : )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “Rug Hooking Break/Civil War Bride Quilt/Sunnie”

  1. You sound so nice. Love others who appreciate and value the crafty arts. They give me much joy. They will be my legacy, as I spent most of my money on supplies. But I have a decent body of work. My grandchildren might get a kick out of old tiny quilts and such. How do you clear out that which you know you can’t finish? I too am old, and have aching hands, and poorer eyesight, as a lot of oldsters do. Still am interested in the craft, tho. Ggod luck to you in your new home!

    1. Eileen…you sound nice too!!! I am smiling about leaving a legacy of art/crafts after spending all the money on supplies!!!! : ) A lot of us are in that same boat. You know, if I don’t want to finish one of my designs I just pass it on to someone who likes it, give it to the Goodwill for a craft person to find or swap it for something else! Several of my friends have fun finishing up rugs or quilt pieces that they find at yard sales or the goodwill. : ) I am enjoying my home and finding it pleasant to live here. (And my elderly cat likes it too…that is important.)
      Hugs to you, Sunnie : )

  2. Sunnie, your applique blocks are beautiful and you’re right, working on cotton appliques are fun and not too warm a project for summer. Applique quilts are my favorite type of quilts to work on because it’s so transportable.

    It’s great that you can work together with your daughter on quilts. Absolutely great…
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Hi Julia…I hope everyone on the farm including all the animals (!!!) are doing well this summer. I know it is a lot of work for you! Applique is fun isn’t it? I enjoy the hand work…and it is not like working with that lovely warm wool when it is 90 degrees outside!! Love that wool in the cooler months!
      Hugs, Sunnie : )

Leave a Reply

