Civil War Bride Quilt/Blocks/Sunnie/rug hooking break!

A quick post this morning…

I’ve been asked about showing specific blocks and commenting on them and how I am doing them since I am using the patterns for ideas and not copying them exactly!  : )   (You might think I am lazy…but I really prefer cutting out shapes freehand and fitting them into my block, rather than using the patterns.)   You can see that my method does not make for “perfect” leaves or images.    Each leaf is slightly different.   I am mixing lots of different fabrics…sometimes using the one I just pick up at random!!!!!    I baste the leaf or other piece first and “tidy it up” as I sew it on the backing.  : )

I am using a bit of red and a bit of blue on each block too, no matter what other colours I use.

CWBembroidry1CWBgirlblock

This is the block I worked on yesterday…and it is still in progress.   You can see on the close-up of the embroidery that I also did a little buttonhole stitch around the hands so they would show up better.   I use sewing thread for that so it isn’t too obvious!!  : )

I am adding embroidered names and words that are meaningful to me (and were to my husband too)!     Also, I’ll do a gentleman (!!) …a block that was not on the original quilt or the pattern from Threadbear.

Creating a celebration of our life together!    We had such fun and lots of laughter… so working on these personal things helps me through the sad times.

As Ralph Waldo Emerson says…”Write it on your heart that every day is the best day of the year.”     I am writing that on my heart today…and may you have the best day of the year today too!   Happy Quilting and Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  ; )

 

Note…this is the original Civil War Bride quilt below

CIVIL WAR BRIDEoriginalquilt

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “Civil War Bride Quilt/Blocks/Sunnie/rug hooking break!”

  1. It’s going to be a great quilt and family heirloom. It must be very therapeutic to do this. I love Ralph Waldo Emerson’s quote. It’s so positive. I like positive people who sees the good in everyone.

    Happy quilting and again, I’m so glad to follow your blog.
    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

