Civil War Bride Quilt/Sunnie rug hooking break/cat block

Good Morning!   Had a busy day yesterday so only got a small amount done on my quilt..!    But this is the block of our cat, “Cassie”…she’s almost 16 years old.   She and I are growing old together!  🙂  She thinks of me rather like a gigantic food dish on legs!!!   🙂     Never scratches, never bites, loves everyone…and loved thunderstorms when we were in Vermont.   Very strange in a cat ( or dogs either!!!)   She would go out on the porch and watch the lightning and the rain.   At first, we thought she might be a bit deaf…but since she could hear a can of cat food being opened in the kitchen when she was outside (!!!) we figured it was not deafness!!!   She actually was strange when she came to us,…and living with us just made her more so!!  LOL

Here is the block…she always loved the Autumn and it is my favourite season too, especially in Vermont as it is so beautiful…so I am making the flower leaves green and gold.

CassieCWB block

I will add some other personal things on this block but did get some of the leaves appliqued on and some embroidery done.   Although this is time-consuming, it really is fun!   I hope you will try one of these personal quilts too if you have the time and enjoy taking a break from rug hooking in the summertime!

As you probably know from the other things I do, I am not worrying about finishing one block completely before going on to the others!   I am working on a group of 6 blocks now and will probably work in groups of 2 or 3 next.  I will finish one group before going on to the next..!  🙂

I like Eleanor Roosevelt’s thought…”With the new day comes new strength and new thoughts.”   When I’ve had a “weepy” day, it is especially nice to wake up to a new day and new strength.   It is all part of the grieving process…but I do have many times of happiness and contentment too!   This adjustment period is like riding an emotional roller coaster!    The quilt is really a great help and fun to remember the personal things!

I hope your new day and new strength and thoughts are pleasant for you today!   Enjoy,  Sunnie  😉

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

5 thoughts on “Civil War Bride Quilt/Sunnie rug hooking break/cat block”

  1. Dear Sunnie, you are such a nice person and I’m so glad that you have your hands to make beautiful things with that brings you a bit of happiness.
    I love your Cassie bloc. A sweet kitty for a sweet lady.

    I’m looking forward to seeing all the blocks.
    Big hugs from New Brunswick.

    1. Hugs to you, Julia…you are like a sister to me!!! (I have one terrific brother but no sisters) 🙂
      I’m always glad we met on RHDaily!!! Enjoy today…hope all the animals (and the people!) on the farm are doing well. Sunnie 🙂

  2. You definitely know how to inspire and up lift people even as you deal with grief yourself, you are an amazing woman.

  3. Thank you MIchelle… I guess I am so fortunate to have had Joe in my life for 25 years, and have wonderful family and friends that I try to move into the “thankful” and “blessed” part of my life even while going through a great loss. However, no one sees the tears that come while working on the quilt blocks or hooking the Angel…or writing on the computer. I just try to embrace the grief…it is natural and expected…and find the enjoyment in each day. After all, I am a “little old lady” myself…and I need to enjoy each day I have too!!! LOL Hugs to you, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

