Civil War Bride quilt/”Joy”-Bird block/Sunnie/rug hooking break

I’m doing a day of cleaning and organizing my sewing-hooking room today as I moved all my supplies in and then started organizing!   However, I had the rest of the apartment to do so I stopped and worked on everything else!!!!   🙂

But last evening, I did complete this bird block and it is vey close to the block on the CWB quilt…you at least can recognize it as an adaptation of the original block!    The embroidered “Joy” is because my husband loved birds and was very knowledgeable about them!   We fed the birds through the long Vermont winters and went through hundreds of pounds of birdseed!!!! I learned so much from Joe and enjoyed birds more than I ever had before.

Here is the block:

birdJoyblockCWB

Close up of the embroidery and the butterfly outline.   My Mom and my Grandmother made larger butterfly quilts (with the dark buttonhole stitch around the wings) and I remember them with joy also!!!  🙂

CWBbirdJoyclose1

And, since I am using a bit of red in all blocks no matter what the other colours are…I put the red in this one as a Bug!!!   (like a ladybug, kinda!!!) LOL

CWBbirdJoyblockclose2

Now it is off to the cleaning and sorting…and trying to adapt curtains from my Vermont house to my apartment..!!!!  Of course, none of the windows even remotely resemble my Vermont ones!!!!!

I will listen to Abraham Lincoln today…”A goal properly set is halfway reached”.   Hmmm…sitting here at the computer and setting my goal of making order out of chaos might qualify for halfway reached.   But I often find that my “organizing”, “cleaning” and “sorting” gets me in a bigger mess than I had before!!!!!!!!!  LOL

Of course, none of you have that problem!    Happy Thursday!  Sunnie  🙂

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

6 thoughts on “Civil War Bride quilt/”Joy”-Bird block/Sunnie/rug hooking break”

  1. Just getting my strength back after having a summer cold and pneumonia and can’t wait to hit the sewing room/hooking room to start organizing it once again. You are right, I tend to make a bigger mess before it gets under control.

    Love the lady bug, it pops out.

  2. Gosh, Michelle, you really have had a bad bout of illness! I hope you feel better and better each day! Thanks for your visit..! I hope your room gets under control too. I wonder if the sewing/hooking gremlins come out at night and undo some of the things we thought we had already finished!!! LOL Hugs to you, Sunnie 🙂

  3. I love your bird block and i like how it brings you sweet memories of feeding birds with Joe. I think that this quilt will be a very special quilt as so many loving memories are stitched in there. It will be a bittersweet quilt but very beautiful and sentimental.
    Hugs,
    JB

  4. Thank you, Julia! Yes…it is bittersweet, but I am enjoying the work…and it doesn’t matter if I cry…perfectly understandable and my cat doesn’t mind at all..!! She just is her own sweet self. I think our animals understand a lot. 🙂
    I just became a Great Grandmother again this morning…darling baby girl named “Michelle” after her Grandma (my daughter, Michelle)! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  5. Sunnie,
    Getting used to a new place is not easy. It is worse when you are not doing it with the special person in your life.
    Your applique quilts show the wonderful touches of whimsey and fabulous color choices that were trademarks of your rug hooking. Thanks for getting back to sharing. You are a very special lady!
    Blessings to you,
    trisha

    1. Thank you, Trisha…I hope you are doing well and having a good summer! I am thankful that my apartment and neighbors are very pleasant and comfortable. I do enjoy living here so far. That makes life easier too. Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

