Civil War Bride Quilt/Sunnie/Joe’s Block/rug hooking break

I worked quite a log time yesterday just sketching the block I am doing for Joe…trying to decide what to put in it..!!!   I decided to have him in his work clothes with his brown work shoes (I can’t believe how heavy those shoes were!) hanging a birdhouse.   He loved the neighbor’s black labs so I’m putting one of them in.   Animals seemed to love Joe and he loved them too!  🙂  We already have a “Cassie” cat block so I don’t need to put the cat in.   ( As you can see, everything in “in progress”!)

I am putting Joe in first and then doing the flower-tree stems and stuff (!!) later so I know how to position them.   I cut  freehand shapes out of copy paper and move them around to see how I want to do some of the blocks.   The pencil sketch is just “brainstorming”… and I go from there.   I put in Joe’s cane as he often used a walking stick/cane years before he needed one after his cancer diagnosis.   Also, it reminds me just how fortunate we were that he only needed a cane until his final few weeks.   He used a walker in the hospital, rehab, etc. but went back to the cane when he’d recovered.   So the cane is a happy remembrance!  🙂

Now, of course, Joe would never wear a floral work vest (!!) but I had to get my blue fabric in there somewhere!!!   LOL  And he did wear a straw hat sometimes when he drove the 1928 Jordan automobile.   Otherwise, it was a baseball cap but I liked the straw hat better for my purposes.   I don’t know if you noticed, but although my block has the girl in more “vintage” dress, I am using more “modern” clothing for Joe.  The nice thing is that modern men’s clothing and work clothing of the past aren’t all that different…and I am putting in things from our last few years together.

Some people wonder if working on something like this, with all the memories, is not too difficult and sad for me since Joe died only 4 months ago.   But since I am going to grieve anyway, why not do it while remembering the good and fun times we had together…and making something delightful for myself in the process?    And I find myself smiling through the tears.   🙂

Here is the start of the “Joe” block…

Joe'sblockCWBquilt

Just as I did on the “Sunnie” block, I will do a buttonhole stitch around his hands to have them show up better.  I used gray buttonhole stitch around his face for his beard and a few embroidery stitches for the mustache, etc.    Of course,  there will be flowers, leaves, etc. too!   I am using the “pressing bars” to do the bias stems and love them!!!   Bias stems have never been easier or nicer to do!

I hope you have a lovely day today…and may all your threads pull through the fabric of life smoothly!    Enjoy,   Sunnie  🙂

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “Civil War Bride Quilt/Sunnie/Joe’s Block/rug hooking break”

  1. So enjoy your blog. I too am a widow. I’ve never dared make any memorial quilt. But thought about using his ties in something. You seem so nice, and I really like the thoughtful way you plan your blocks. I post my work on Facebook here and there. I miss having another friendly quilter to compare notes with. I do appliqué mostly. Nice to see your enthusiasm! Keep up the great work!!

    1. Eileen, please keep in touch!! I always enjoy visiting with other quilters and rug hookers. Many times, we find someone else feeling the same way about something or showing us something that solves a quilting/rug hooking/designing problem we’ve been having!!! I have learned so much from others and been greatly blessed by the company of online friends.
      Hugs to you!! Sunnie 😉

  2. Hi Sunnie, I think that your Joe block is delightful. It’s looking like a happy block.

    Sewing your memory appliqués is a great way to de-srtess and grieve and making art at the same time and I see it as therapeutic. Anything that grows and change need time and so does grieving. With the new dawn comes rejoicing. Joe is really not gone but transformed to a higher plane where he’s no longer restricted and is rejoicing with his Creator.

    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Hi Julia…yes, you are right. I still feel Joe’s loving spirit with me every day. I find great comfort in that . I also have so many wonderful memories and I am fortunate in having those! We each grieve in our own way…my way might not be the best for others…but it is good for me! : )
      Hugs to you, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

