Civil War Bride quilt/adaptation/Sunnie/also rug hooking 8-6

Spent some time last night cutting things out and pinning them on the Joe block!!!   I really like the tulip shapes…and there is another memory concerning Tulips for me.   When we moved to Vermont, we lived in a wonderful rural area and had places for lots of flowers.   We both loved tulips and we planted a lot of them.   However, we didn’t plan on the red squirrels and the chipmunks eating the bulbs!!!   😦

We were sitting on the porch one day and saw a tulip fall over right in front of us.   As we began noticing, we saw that almost all of our tulips were disappearing…and we ended up with a tulip here and there, evidently in places not as advantageous for squirrel-chipmunk snacking!!!    So we planted daffodils.  (they don’t like those!!!)  🙂

Anyway…here is some progress on Joe’s block…I may have to do a little tweaking on the dog…Looks a little “pointy-faced” to me!!!   Or, I may just leave him as he is!!!   But some progress here:

CWBJoeprogress

As I’ve said before, I simply cut shapes out of paper or fabric and position them where I think I want them.   If you know my rug hooking, you know that I don’t colour-plan my rugs before starting as I like to be surprised at where the adventure takes me.   (even my design sometimes takes an entirely different turn…and I always enjoy the detour)  🙂

This quilt is fun for me because I can adapt the different blocks to suit myself, yet I can do an entire block almost the same as the original if I choose to do so…I have the pattern!     After all, I was drawn to the quilt as the original maker did it…so I know I liked that quilt..!   (I saw the original, square block quilt first…then saw the rectangular block pattern)

I also don’t draw on the background where the pattern pieces go.   I do make light pencil lines where the stems go and sometimes a little line where I want to remember to put a leaf.   But it would not make sense for me to draw the pattern “as is” on the backing as I am changing my mind and adapting all the time.   I know that many of my friends really like to do careful planning on quilts or rugs and they shudder at starting out without having the end they want in mind.   But they love doing that and it brings them joy!!!   I’m all for what brings each of us joy…so I start out, grab a fabric I like and start hooking or sewing!!!!

Ralph Waldo Emerson had a very beautiful quote that said something about each of us making a difference in someone’s life.   I must go check it out.   Ah, this is the part I remembered…love this thought.   “…to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded.”    ( the whole quote starts with…”To laugh often and much…” and I’ve always thought that quote is what I think of as success.   I know that I (and many others) have breathed easier because Joe lived, and he always said that his life was more joyful and more fun when he found me.   For me, it just doesn’t get any better than that.  🙂

May we each help someone breathe easier today…I am thinking of all the wonderful nurses who helped both Joe and me “breathe easier” through his illness.

Enjoy,  Sunnie  🙂

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “Civil War Bride quilt/adaptation/Sunnie/also rug hooking 8-6”

  1. Sunnie,
    Thanks to you for all the joy and goodness you have brought into my life. After all this time, I kinda feel I know you and your beloved Joe. You have also encouraged me and given me cheer when I needed it. My life is brighter for knowing you, even if just by the computer.
    Many warm hugs to you,
    trisha

    1. I appreciate you so much, Trisha…I think we have been good for each other through the years! It is wonderful to have such good “computer” friends…and I treasure you all.
      Hugs to you, Sunnie 🙂

  2. Hi Dear Sunnie,you are about the most upbeat person I know. All this transition can’t be easy for you yet you keep being cheerful through it all. You accept what you can’t change and change what you can. That’s being successful too. Life has it’s trials.

    I’m so glad that Joe was part of your life and was your soul mate. It doesn’t get any better than that.

    Joe’s block will be very special.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Thank you, Julia…I’ve said before that you are like a sister to me!!! I always appreciate your insights and encouragement. 🙂 You certainly help me “breathe easier” in my life! It is a lovely gift you have of making each person feel special. Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

