Civil War Bride Quilt/adaptation/Progress/Sunnie-rug hooking break

Still working away on Joe’s block…I did add the word “Geography” underneath his feet as he was a Professor Emeritus of Geography from Central Washington University in Ellensburg, WA.   I also added his birth year and death year…as this is sort of a memorial piece.

Also still sewing down leaves and flowers!!!  Filled out the dog’s face with embroidery and embroidered the birdhouse opening.

Here is the block…not too much more to do!!!  🙂

Joeblockembroid

Life sometimes intervenes and I actually have to do something else…even when I’d like to be working more on my blocks!   But the six blocks are coming along and I will be glad to have them all finished.   I hope any of you who are doing this quilt or an adaptation of it are having a wonderful time!   It really is fun!  🙂

Enjoy the evening (or the morning, wherever in the world you are!!! )   Sunnie  🙂

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

3 thoughts on “Civil War Bride Quilt/adaptation/Progress/Sunnie-rug hooking break”

  1. Sunnie,
    Have been happily following your progress on your quilt blocks. I am sure Joe is smiling at how you portrayed him. The dog’s muzzle looks good where you filled it out. Thanks for taking us along your journey.
    trisha

  2. Hi Sunnie, I’m happy to follow your progress too. Dates are such an important part of history and it makes the quilt more special.

    I’ve been away at my daughter and son in law’s cottage with the kids and it was nice getting away for the day. My son did my barn chores so I could go and he milked the cows .

    I hope that your week goes well.
    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

