Civil War Bride Quilt adaptation/Sunnie/rug hooking break-Thursday

For a person who supposedly doesn’t have a lot to do, I can’t believe how “busy” I’ve been!!!!!  LOL   And I wonder what I have to show for it all..! 🙂

However, part of my slowness on the CWB adaptation quilt is the embroidering of the words on the blocks.   Of course, I have to decide What words…and where to put them.   I found myself laughing over Joe’s block as I thought about embroidering words (or a word) behind the dog…but I realized that it would look like the dog “doing his business” as we gracefully put it (!!!) so I decided that the dog looked fine just as he is!  🙂

Today’s post has a focus on the words I am stitching.   I am using several shades of green for the words and have added my birth year, and on another block I am adding the wonderful things that Joe used to grow in his large garden.   I changed the CWB block with the veggie words to have a couple of “flowers” that remind me of yellow peppers…so I’m in a “veggie” mood.   Even had salad for supper!!!

Here are the blocks with some of the embroidery finished.

wordsCWBquilt

As you can see…I am mixing up fabrics and doing things that appeal or are memories for Me…and not necessarily “perfectly matched or colour-placed”, etc.   But I am having a great time and the creation of these blocks is wonderful comfort.

I must go work more on the organization of my studio/sewing room.   Yes… I am Still working on it..!!!!   LOL

May your yarns and threads stay tangle-free today and your wool strips not fray…and if you are painting anything, may all the drips drop on something unimportant…!!!    Enjoy,  Sunnie  🙂

 

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

3 thoughts on “Civil War Bride Quilt adaptation/Sunnie/rug hooking break-Thursday”

  1. Hi Sunnie, I hope all is well and you will be posting again soon! I lost track of you for a while. I just finished hooking your Leaping Deer rug.
    Blessings,
    Linda

Leave a Reply

