2014/New Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/24 x 24-Day 12

Well…almost there!   Here is the picture of half of the rug for today…and all of it tomorrow!!  🙂

Of course, you knew it all the time!   What do we do when we move?   C A…Change Address!   What do artists and craftspeople do if they have the space and place to put it…they make a H A S or an A A Sign!  House Address Sign or an Apartment Address Sign!   Normally the signs are smaller but I have an area that is perfect for a 24 x 24 hooked wall piece as shown below.

DOORaptThis is what is hanging on my wall now.   My apartment door is on the right and I am down 7 steps from the entry door.   So it is a perfect place for an identifying sign or wall hanging.  🙂   As I said, signs are usually smaller but I like the fun of having a larger piece which is obvious to family and friends when they first visit where I live.   It gives other visitors a chuckle too!!!!

So with this photo…you know that I am hooking an Apartment Address sign!  LOL  🙂   I live in #16 and since I was thinking Spring when I did this piece and poppies bloom in late Spring… now I will do 3 other 24 x 24 pieces of Summer, Autumn and Winter so I can change them.    Also, hooking something that shows one’s personality is a lot of fun…and you know I love doing goofy rugs and hangings!  🙂    (I think it would make a fun challenge for the 24 x 24 inch mat people to do one depicting their personality) 

So here we go on Day 12…one half of the rug today!!!!   Finished Rug tomorrow!!!   LOL Happy Hooking!  🙂

mysteryday11

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

7 thoughts on “2014/New Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/24 x 24-Day 12”

  1. Very cleaver Sunnie. You got a lot done in no time. I would have never guessed in a million year. I somehow assumed that there was a person in your mystery rug and i was right. Now I can’t wait for tomorrow to see the product of your genius.
    Hugs,
    JB

  2. You have good guesses, Julia!!! 🙂 You were right that it had a person in it…and you know how much I love doing the medieval stuff with the royalty and the different costumes! So that was a good guess too!!!
    You know me and the funny stuff I do…and I really had fun with this although the poppies and squiggley lines almost had me screeching!!! LOL (living in an apartment, I can’t really do a lot of screeching!!!) 🙂
    So this is something that introduces me to the world (and my neighbors!) and lets others know just what kind of a person lives in this apartment..!!! (So they can avoid me if they have a fear of “goofyness”!!!) LOL
    Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  3. What a great idea! A rug depicting your apartment number, and who you are! Like Julia, I never would have guessed either. And what fun to make others that are seasonal. Can’t wait till tomorrow to see the entire rug.

  4. Thanks, Debbie…I thought of it as I was hanging a couple of my 24 x 24 inch rugs (like the “Snow Guys”) outside my door for the holidays. It would be like having an “alter-ego” or avatar in hooked form!!! And I am already laughing about the next one!!! LOL 🙂
    Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  5. What a great idea Sunnie! I love your rug. I would love to see your finished Civil War Brides Quilt applique that you were working on.

    1. Thank you Linda…I have not progressed too much on my quilt but will post more here when I finish more blocks. I am really a rug hooker and my quilt takes second place. but I did enjoy working on the blocks so far and it helped me by focusing on the things Joe and I enjoyed!! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

