2014/New Mystery Rug FINISHED!/Sunnie/rug hooking/24 x 24-Day 13

TA DAH!   Drum roll, please!  LOL   My “Mystery rug” is no Mystery any more!

Pulled the last loops last night and am steaming this morning (steaming #4)…so this was a fast rug to hook!   Normally, this would probably take me about three weeks or so…but I had a couple of days where I had 6-8 hours to hook, so that moved things along!  🙂

As I said, I will be hooking three more of these, Summer, Autumn, and Winter and will show my progress as I go along.   I’ll just show parts of the rug but you know that it will be my “altered self” engaging in some form of activity for these Seasons!   I am already laughing…so you know they will have a funny side!!!  🙂

There are some things that would not be obvious in this rug to anyone but me as you’d have to know that, as the figure is shown with a black background going into blue, I was born on the longest night of the year…Dec. 21st.   so that is symbolic!   Also (why are you not surprised!!!) when I was a teen-ager, I enjoyed experimenting with my clothing…putting different patterns and colours together…so that is why this dress has such different parts and patterns!  (No, this is not one that I wore then!!!!!) LOL

I hope you enjoy my “hooked alter self” as much as I enjoyed doing her!!    I wanted to illustrate the person who lives here, someone slightly goofy, with a sense of humor and a fun way of looking at the world!   I hope I succeeded…and hope it will give a chuckle to those who know me and those who don’t..!!   LOL  🙂     Of course, my hint of  I O T N…means Introduce Ourselves To Neighbors…something we do when we move.

Here we go…Day 13/FINISH…

Mystery2014FinalMay you all have a perfectly wonderful day with lots of fun…and maybe some delightful hooking too!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂    (Stay tuned for the start of the next in the Seasons Series!!!!)

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

13 thoughts on “2014/New Mystery Rug FINISHED!/Sunnie/rug hooking/24 x 24-Day 13”

  1. Yea, you got her done Sunnie. I love the windy day and the skirt flying in the wind. It’s really you ,always smiling and friendly…
    My guesses were rather way off but I knew you had a royal person in there somewhere.

    I bet the hook won’t have time to cool before you start the next rug.
    Hugs,
    JB

  2. Thank you, ladies!!!! I am glad the idea popped into my mind when I was hanging up the “Snow Guys”! for the Christmas/Winter season…it is going to be a fun season of hooking of me this year!!!! 🙂
    Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  3. Perfect! Can’t wait to see the next in the series! Bet your neighbors will get a chuckle out of this, and maybe you’ll be teaching some of them how to hook!

    1. Thanks, Monika…I am enjoying hooking once again. It takes time…but I find I can blend the sadness in with the happiness…and make something fun in the process! Joe always enjoyed my work…and that was a great blessing!!!! 🙂

    1. I’m glad to be back hooking too, Annette! I miss you guys and all our fun with Brenda too!
      I’m glad you like the sign…I laughed a lot while hooking it and that must mean that I am coming back to my natural self!
      Hugs to you, Sunnie 🙂

  4. Sunnie – I’m getting caught up on your blog posts, and I have to say, I was surprised when you revealed…. I think it’s terrific, and I love the whimsical feel that it has. In any case, mu guess was sure not anywhere close, but then I have only just met you. Thanks for an enjoyable read!

Leave a Reply

