2014-Feb New Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/24 x 24-Day 3

Working on another part of the rug for today’s post.   Keeping the bright plaid here as no other motifs are affected.  🙂

I think I will add some of the border today to see how my colour choice works!!!   I was told early in my hooking “life” (!!) that a border should use a colour from the rug center and not add another.   But I often experiment with a totally different border wool…sometimes it’s fine, sometimes, it looks dreadful..!!!   LOL   I like to do a corner, stand back and look at the rug from a distance and then take it out if I’ve goofed!

( I have a piece of thin plywood that I have covered with fabric.   I pin the rug with clothespins onto the board and set it in front of a chair so I can look at it while I am having lunch, etc.   I usually can spot any problems, even little ones, right away by just looking at the rug for a while.   It also helps other ideas pop into my mind…or changes, etc.!!!)  🙂

Here we go on Day 3…

Happy Hooking, Everyone!!!

FebMystery5

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

Leave a Reply

