2014-New AUTUMN Mystery rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/24″-Day 6

Six days and counting!!!!!   What fun!  🙂   The more I work on this rug, the more I like it..!!!   It is really enjoyable and quite different from the other two!  LOL

I’ve said before that I love to be “surprised” with the rugs that I do!   I have done a few commercial rugs in the past on here…the Bradley Primitive,  Little Allerton, etc. but following a pattern is not my favourite way to hook!   Now, of course, it is good discipline to do that…and I can do it if I choose to!   But I really enjoy being able to change my mind and do something totally different than what I had planned at first…or change my mind in the middle of the rug and go a different direction!!!   LOL   This is what happened with my Autumn house sign!  🙂

My first thought and sketch was of my “alter ego”  under a tree with lots of autumn leaves flying around.   Maybe adding something for Halloween too…and a fun dress or other costume… (like a fairy godmother, etc)      My second thought and sketch was of my” alter ego” in a pumpkin costume with my little knobbley legs in tights and funny, pointy elfin shoes and a hat with autumn leaves flying around!   I looked at both the Spring and Summer signs and wanted to do something very different…but retain the fun and a bit of whimsy and silliness!!!!!   LOL

However, before acting on either of these, I happened to pass by one of my rugs hanging on my apartment wall (I have 13 rugs on the walls and many more on the floor!!!) and the AUTUMN sign just popped into my mind!   I went to my art/craft design books to get an idea for the costume and away I went…!!!   🙂   (I also decided on something to do with this one where I could add a bit of Halloween that could be taken off!)

I have made quite a bit of progress and hope to have this one finished in about the same amount of time as the first two!

So here we go with Progress on Day 6…

AutumnMWED2

AutumnMWED1You can see more plaids in the browns used here!

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “2014-New AUTUMN Mystery rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/24″-Day 6”

  1. Thank you, everyone!!! 🙂 I am having a great time and zipping right along!!
    I think we all have times where we feel too busy or too tired or just not in the mood to do our art/craft work…I am no exception!!! But I really have enjoyed Jan and Feb…the snowy or cold or rainy or foggy weather makes it nice to be indoors. LOL
    Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

