2014 New Mystery Rug starting Soon!/Sunnie/rug hooking/folk art

I’ve been having a great time with the apartment signs…but since I haven’t decided on the Winter Season yet, I decided to do another rug that I’ve wanted to do…and it might be fun to just show progress as I go along.   It will take me a while to get the pattern drawn out and collect the wools, but in a week or so, I will start hooking.

I have a couple of other hooking projects to do in the weeks to come also, so I’ll post my progress…but it might not be every day!   LOL   🙂

I have also been looking through my books on stained glass and there are some beautiful designs there.   William Morris designs are also wonderful and there are so many ideas out there to translate into rugs!  🙂

I wanted to show again an earlier picture of my Spotted Pony rug.   Sometimes people ask how to use up woolworms leftover from other projects.   Of course, there are a lot of geometrics…filling in squares, rectangles, etc. with various strips or strips hooked in circles or lines …but a background can really show off a central figure (light on dark strips or dark on light strips).   I really cleaned out a lot of leftovers doing this “folk art” background.   It might give you an idea for a background too…I thought it gave an illusion of motion and energy!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

ruggreyspothorse300

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

5 thoughts on “2014 New Mystery Rug starting Soon!/Sunnie/rug hooking/folk art”

  1. I love this great idea. I do have a bunch of worms that I would like to doi something with They are mostly fine cuts from 3 to 6.

    I love yor spotted hotrse rug. Thanks fgor the lesson.
    Hugs,
    JB

  2. Thank you ladies!!! I like to share “stuff” that works for me…and I really enjoyed doing the horse and using up so many woolworms! I need to do something like this again as I have a LOT of woolworms!!! LOL
    Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  3. Thank you, Diana…I hope you enjoy using up those “worms”!!! I loved hooking it…it was great fun to see the background set off the figure! I forgot to say earlier that they were all different widths of woolworms…from #3 to #8!!!!
    Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

