2014 New Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/misc wool strips-Day 3

Zipping right along…however, it takes me longer to search through the woolworm bins to find the colours I want…and sometimes Not find the colours I want..!!!  LOL   It is so tempting to just go and cut new strips!!!   But Noooo…I am doing this with leftovers and, except for the background wool, I want to stick with my commitment to just have fun and use up a lot of them!!!  🙂

I am trying not to use my cutters either, but just hand cut a wider strip into a narrower one when necessary!   I didn’t have enough leftovers of the gray for the roof so I added a couple of bluish strips and tanish strips to finish the roof.   As you can already see, I decided to do the darker strips for the motifs and chose a lighter plaid (why are you not surprised at the Plaid..!) for the background.   I had leftover strips plus more of the same wool for the background…so I know I won’t run out.   However, if I miscalculated and was not sure if I would have enough background wool of the same plaid, I would go around the motifs with what I have, leave parts of the background OPEN until I finished up all of my first BG choice and then fill in the empty spaces with a blending wool.  🙂

I forgot to tell you that this rug is a “runner” of sorts…20″ x 52″…so it is not the quick 24 x 24″ that I’ve been doing!!!!

At least for me…something fun like this, with no “demands” no “planning” except for the choice of dark on light wools and the satisfaction of using up leftovers is a pleasure.   I don’t have any time limit so I can work on other projects too.   Actually, this kind of thing is instructive because I learn more about blending wools.   I have to add other wools to my motifs when I run out of my first choice…and sometimes experimenting shows me some neat things!!!

Here we go with progress on Day 3…   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

NEWrug3

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “2014 New Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/misc wool strips-Day 3”

  1. You are clipping along nicely.

    When I was hooking my Childhood Memories rug, I’ve over-dyed a bunch of wool worms to make green that all went together with good results. I was careful not to handle them too much in the process, after rinsing I blotted them in a towel and dried them on hangers.

    Happy hooking.
    hugs,
    JB

  2. Sunnie I am learning alot from you, I am so happy I found your web site. Can’t wait to see how your runner progress’s. Hope you have a great week. Sending along my best from Vermont, Diana

  3. That’s a great idea, Julia!!! I am limited as to what I can do “dying” here in an apartment. But I might be able to do a little (maybe oven dying) to blend some colours as I need them!!! Thanks for the tip!!! Hugs, Sunnie : )

Leave a Reply

