THE BLUE BOWL Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/wool art-Day 4

Hooray…I am working fast on this one…especially the dark woolworm background!!!   I can see the bin of leftover dark worms going down!    🙂   Remember my speaking about this “Spotted Pony” rug with the dark, leftovers background?   I am using the same darks but in straight rows, not the curvy shapes that this rug has.

HORSEbg

I also expanded my “leftovers use” to small pieces of wool that are not worms and small leftovers of wool I don’t like because of something “not wool” used in the plaid..!!!   It is helping me reduce my stash even more…and the woolworms are still disappearing too!!!!!   LOL

Hint:   Today, I am showing you the Blue Bowl in its correct placement.  

 Another Hint:    this piece is not my usual funny work…but as I was working on it yesterday, I realized that the rug looks like an older book cover illustration!   So think about book covers on Mystery books you have read through the years…and think about what would be featured on that cover.  ( The years from the 1900 to the 1930’s would be about right.)   The covers are meant to entice you to buy the book…and, because I love mystery books, I have seen a lot of covers over the years!!!!   LOL  

Also, I am giving you more than one picture as I am working on several areas of the rug…and you can see the different colours I am using.   I have put two plaids in the piece that either are ones I never know what to use them for (!!!) or they have that annoying acrylic or something else “icky” woven in the plaid that makes it almost impossible to tear!!!!!   I have pieces that fray easily too…and are a pain to work with..!   It’s nice to see them disappearing into the piece!!!  LOL

Here is Progress on Day 4…   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

BBowlday4xxx

 

 

BBowlday4x

BBowlday4xx

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “THE BLUE BOWL Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/wool art-Day 4”

  1. Wow Sunnie, you are really coming along very fast. If I was a worm, I’d be very scared, lol… I’m clueless about the clues. It’s still a great mystery to me.

    I’ve designed another chair pd yesterday. I had thought of hooking a hit and miss but it decided on little squares on the diagonal instead. I hope that I can do a decent job of placing my limited colors on this one.

    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

