THE BLUE BOWL Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 9-FINISHED!

 

Hooray!!   I had more time to hook than I thought yesterday and finished this a couple of days early!!!  🙂

Here’s the explanation of this rug…

It just started with my wanting to get rid of a lot of dark woolworms…so I needed to have a lighter design for the motif (or motifs).   I also have a lot of gold leftovers so I chose to use as many of them as possible in the design.   I had thought of using an animal (like the polka dot pony in an earlier rug) but decided to look through my Dover books and art books for some inspiration.

When I pulled out some books, I found one on Parisian fashions around 1900-1920…and I thought of using a figure in front of the background.   Although I changed and adjusted the pose on this figure, her expression could convey several emotions.   Surprise, dismay, sorrow, hope, etc. and, as the drawing (by George Barbier ) had her looking into a large urn, I thought of Agatha Christie’s story of the Blue Jar.  

     In that story, an elaborate plot was hatched by 3 people to steal a valuable blue jar away from its rightful owner!   So I thought of having the mystery for this rug be similar…perhaps the lady being in poor circumstances finally realizing that the Blue Bowl left to her by her mother was, in fact, a great inheritance!   🙂

However, you can think of your own mystery concerning this!   The lady could have looked into the bowl and found a key…what does it unlock?   She could have found the bowl empty when she expected to find something in it.   She could have found a letter from a long lost love mixed up with other papers in the bowl that sends her on a journey!   Her hand is in her pocket…is she going to put something INTO the bowl for someone else to find instead of taking something out?  

So this rug is symbolic in may ways…the pink “swirls” on the right side of the rug could be a fanciful tree, simply a decoration or an omen of “life” creeping in unexpectedly..!!!

I also said that I thought this reminded me of a book cover…and I still think it does.   I must be thinking of old mystery books!!!

So here is the Finish on Day 9…Hope you enjoy “The Mystery of the Blue Bowl”…and Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

BBowlFINISH9

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “THE BLUE BOWL Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 9-FINISHED!”

  1. Sunnie, your rug is beautiful and I LOVE your imagination.
    Thanks for your kind words in the previous post. you’re the greatest.

    Have fun at your hooking group.
    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

