New Hooked Rug starting Soon/Sunnie/rug hooking/Grumpy Lions!

I think I have decided to do a primitive rug next…Two Grumpy Lions!  LOL

Some years ago, I purchased a great book called “Folk Art of Rural Pennsylvania” by Frances Lichten (published in 1946).  This was written by the author to inspire artists and craftspeople with pictures and drawings of antique Frakturs and other pieces of art and craft.   I love the illustrations as I often use old frakturs and samplers to inspire my own work.   (I rarely do reproductions of old needlework/rugs, etc. but usually adapt and/or change the design to suit myself..!  🙂

I sketched out a couple of the lion designs (drawn by unknown artists) that I wanted to use for a future rug or rugs…and I am going to adapt one of the designs (from a birth certificate) for my “Grumpy Lions” rug! Below is the original design.

lionsfrak m

I believe that Karen Kahle  was inspired by this drawing in a rug she has hooked… perhaps many other rugmakers or modern fraktur artists, have been inspired by this same antique fraktur drawing too.    I’m looking forward to making my primitive rug which, of course, is different from the others.  

We can certainly see where the lion design comes from in any of the rugs using it…!   My design has two lions and vases of flowers that are also shown on old rugs and samplers.     I looked at several lion designs from antique rugs and stitchery and blended them together!   LOL

On the page with the drawings of several designs, the author says that these are animal motifs from heraldry that were copied by artists for elaborate birth certificates, family tree drawings and painted dower chests.   They were often shown with flower arrangements and other embellishments!!!   Birds and unicorns are also shown.

So I am gathering wools and deciding just what I want to do with the lions, flowers and whatever else I choose to put in the rug!!!   Hopefully, I can get it designed and put on linen before too many days have passed.  🙂   (I’ll be able to use some leftover woolworms in this one too…so that will be fun!)   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  : )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

Leave a Reply

