Grumpy Lions Rug-Update/Sunnie/rug hooking/design info

I have most of the design drawn on the linen…but with a large rug, I have to rest my back after bending over the light table for a long period of time!!   Perhaps that shows my advanced age!!!!!!   LOL  🙂

I remember being asked by a new rug hooker how I got my design enlarged and how I transferred it to my backing…if you are new, you might be interested.

I just mentioned a light table.   My husband cut out a large rectangle in the top of an inexpensive table I had purchased and put a piece of heavy plexiglass in its place.   I have about a 24 x 40 inch piece of plexiglass.   I have three lamps under the table..(.mine are clip on inexpensive lamps!)… that I clip onto a short wooden bench.    Other “light tables” can be made by putting a piece of glass or plastic in place of a leaf if your table expands.   A coffee table with a glass top can be used too.   Some people use a window or a sliding glass door to transfer designs.)

For a large rug (like the Grumpy Lions) I transfer part of the design at one time (one end of the rug) and then switch and do the other end.   (Resting my back in between!!!!)  LOL

I use my computer to enlarge my designs…using the “Paint” program.   (Cindi Gay has a great tutorial) 

cindigayrughooking.com

I used to have my designs enlarged at the copy shop but it got to be quite expensive…so this works for me.   Yes, I have to tape my sheets together, but that takes very little time.   My patterns are just “suggestions…so I don’t always transfer the whole design, just part and hand draw the rest on the linen.   Because I like the look of “hand drawn” imperfections (or maybe the result of a disordered and scatty mind!!!!!!!!) I try to make the motifs a bit different even if the rug has a mirror image design.

Have you hooked this wonderful antique “Welcome” rug?   A terrific way to use up extra woolworms!!!   This is my version, done several years ago!    Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Acats300

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “Grumpy Lions Rug-Update/Sunnie/rug hooking/design info”

  1. I get pain in my upper back when I hook even for short time lately. I must be getting old too. lol…

    I ude a window to transfer my design. I’ve never tried the computer to enlarge my design. I’ll have to learn how to. I have a MacBook Pro.

    I’m looking forward to seeing your design.
    I can’t believe that we already have 35 Deworming Members.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. The Welcome cats was such fun to hook…one of my few “reproductions” of an antique rug! I liked it just the way it was so just hooked it and didn’t change anything!!! LOL
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

