Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug-Day 2

I was able to get in some more hooking yesterday and love the wools I am working with..!!!   So many plaids!!!   🙂

Now I know that you think I have some odd ways of making decisions on rugs about design and colour, etc…and you are right.   But my main goal is to have fun, use wonderful wools and be surprised at the finish of a hooked piece!!!    ………. And I am not the only one who approaches rug hooking that way!   LOL  

Yes, there are many wonderful hookers who do very detailed planning, draw out exact patterns and know exactly what colours are to be used in every part of the rug before they start.   But the point is that however we hook rugs, the goal is to enjoy what we are doing and hooking, planning, etc. in the way that is meaningful to each one of us.    (Special thoughts go to my friend Julia today…for good health and a restful day!)

You will note that in this photo, a Lion’s “feet” has “claws” that are a lovely teal colour!!!!  

Now you say to yourself, “why would anyone in their right mind put teal coloured claws on a Lion??”   (of course, the “right mind” gets you question marks right there!!!   LOL)  

        But the answer is simple.   When I am hooking something where a small strip is needed to fit into a larger motif, I just grab a random strip to “hold” the space so I can replace it with the “correct” colour later!   LOL   It just happened that I really liked the colour I grabbed to hold the spots.     So unless those little strips spoil the look of the entire rug (!!!)…I’ll leave them the odd colour!   Why not?   A little oddness here and there is fun!!!!! 

So here is my Progress on Day 2…Happy Hooking!   Sunnie  🙂 

Grumpyday2

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

3 thoughts on “Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug-Day 2”

Leave a Reply

