Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug-Day3

Quick post today…I did quite a bit of hooking and “choosing” yesterday!    LOL  

When I choose wool colours for this rug, I am trying to use the wools that are not my favourites…by that I mean that they fray more easily, are odd colours that might not have a lot of uses in other rugs, etc.   But they are still beautiful wools and I want the colours to be nice in this piece!!!   🙂

 Since I am diminishing my stash of wools AND leftover woolworms, it makes sense to do this so that the wools that are left will be suitable for all sizes of strip cuts.

By the way, I am using #6, #5 and #4  cuts in this rug…so that is why some of the wools I have are harder to work with.   If I cut #8 or higher, the loosely woven wools wouldn’t be as much of a problem.   But #6 is on the border line of usefulness for a couple of the wools I am using!    But I love the plaids!!!!  

Although close up the green and the faded brick red sections look like they would have enough contrast to show up quite well…from a distance they need a dividing line.   So I have added the dark divider as I want the sections to be distinct.  

So here is Progress on Day 3…   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Grumpyday3Grumpyday3x

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

One thought on “Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug-Day3”

Leave a Reply

