Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug-Day 4

This is a really fun rug to work on!!!!!      LOL   I think I say that every time I do a rug…but that just shows that having fun and enjoying the colours and designs I am doing are my highest priorities!!!!   🙂

Although I am using the duller, greyed prim wools in the rug, you will see a few brighter spots included too!  After the rug is finished in the middle portion I will be able to see if the bright spots work well.   If not, I’ll change them!!!!   LOL   No worry, no stress…just change them!

One of the reasons I don’t use a colour wheel or any other device is because I want to experiment.   It isn’t necessary for me to even group things according to value because I would rather experiment with the wools and see if I can get away with NOT having a dividing line when changing sections…even if the colours are similar in value!   Sometimes, I like the colours to flow together and sometimes I prefer to have a definite divide!   This time, I like the dividing line best…so I will go with that.   I think of my faded brick red as “underground”…and you will note that there is NO dividing line between the green and the brown background wool.   I want that to be a softer transition from brown to green.

So here is my Progress on Day-4   I often work in the evening so I am always surprised at how much nicer the rug looks in the daylight..!!!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Grumpyday4

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

Leave a Reply

