Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug-Day 6

Hooray…coming along just fine!!!!   I said I would be using a lot of leftover woolworms in this rug as well as carefully cutting new worms for the background, the lions, etc.

So…today’s post shows a little bluebird using all leftover blue worms!!!   I love him (her!)!   This rug may become one of my favorites!!!   So many motifs to hook!!!!  🙂

I think you will find, when I am finished with this rug, that it can be described as an original design of mine, “inspired” by several antique rugs.   I showed you the first fraktur design that started me thinking…(!!) but as you will see…my rug is not at all like the lion fraktur.  

I had thought to make it more of an “adaptation”…but then decided to design the Lions as I wanted them to look…so I am surprised and pleased at how they are turning out…!  LOL   (Of course, you might be happier if I had stuck with the original lion drawing (!!) but I’m “doing my own thing”…so anything can happen!!!!

Note:   you may have noticed in the earlier photos that I have a blue “tulip” in the faded brick red section that has a dark blue and a light blue used.   I am holding the flower in place and will not decide if I want to have the tulip fade into the background… or be lighter to show up better…until I have finished more of the rug!   I will know what I want at a later time…and I’ll be more able to know what the rug “needs”!!!   (or what I need to be happy with the design!!!!!!!)   LOL

Here is lightened version of the photo so you can see the colours used.   I really love the background plaid I am using…so “earthy”!!!

Grumpyday6vv

So here is my Progress on Day 6…the more natural colours.    Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Grumpyday6

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug-Day 6”

  1. Your happy little blue bird is adorable. Great job Sunnie. I’m feeling so tired and have headaches with this antibiotic that I have to lay down and nap now and then. My last pill will be on Friday evening and I can’t wait.
    I did a little hooking this morning and I’m getting close to the end.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Julia, I hope you will feel a lot better after getting rid of that nasty bug!!!!! I know if I am tired and “headachy”, I don’t feel much like hooking or doing anything else!!!!!
      I think we are all doing so well with our “deworming”!!! I am learning better habits and more organized ways of working too…so I’m glad we started this group! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

