Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug-Day10

I’m coming along fine with my rug…and enjoying every minute!!!   That’s the way I like to hook…no stress, no worries…but there is an explanation for that state of mind.  🙂

When I say that I “don’t plan” a rug…I am speaking about the final design and the colour plan of the piece.   But, of course, there are some things I do automatically to give myself a good experience with each rug!

I choose the backing…I always use linen burlap these days.

I choose the size or I give myself size options.

I run two lines of machine zigzag stitch to keep the backing from raveling when I cut the extra away at the finish and bind the rug.

I decide if the background will be light or dark.

I choose the background wool, making sure that I have more than enough to finish the rug… AND I choose another wool close to my background colour in case I have made a mistake in how much wool it will take!   By doing this, I never worry about not having enough background wool to finish a piece!    I can blend in wool close in value and still have the background read as a “solid”…and NOT a wormy background that would compete with my motifs for attention!   (unless I want it to do so!!!)  LOL

I do choose a colour to start with on a main motif…like the Lions on this rug.   I chose shades of gold!   And then, I am on my way!  

When I am transferring the pattern (on my light table) I am already tweaking the design…and that goes on as I hook.   Sometimes the final rug looks quite different from my first vision…and I don’t limit myself.   If I decide to put a frog where I had drawn a tomato before…I just sketch it and do it…!!!   No “rug police” are going to come after me!!!   LOL

When I first started hooking and read posts online (8 or 9 years ago) I was sad to read how many rug hookers said that they felt frustrated or stressed when they hooked.  

They worried about colours (were they “right).   They worried about having enough wool.   They worried that not everyone would like their work.    They felt intimidated by teachers or others who had more experience!   And on and on!!!   One lady said that she was never satisfied with anything she ever hooked..!!!     Perhaps I am a little odd (!!!) but I think if I had a hobby or an activity that caused me so much disappointment,  frustration and stress, I would find something else to do!!!   LOL   Thankfully, we seem to rest easier these days and I mostly find positive comments of enjoyment with their hooking from my circle of  hooking friends!!

The lecture is over!!!!!   (There will NOT be a test..!!! )  LOL

(By the way…did you notice the change in background wool on a part of this rug photo?)LOL

Here is my Progress on Day 10…and I hope you are all enjoying whatever art you are doing at this time! 

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Grumpyday10

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

3 thoughts on “Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug-Day10”

  1. Thanks so much for the lecture on your method of hooking Sunnie. You are a great teacher and you work consciously as you follow your intuition.
    I like that…

    I didn’t noticed any change in the background, maybe some blending of another wool but I can’t put my finger on it. I would need sise by side photos to see the difference.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Thank you Julia…!
      I do like to explain what I do as I have people ask me! LOL I am glad you did NOT notice the background difference! (You have a good eye for those things!!!) 🙂
      That is what I want when I use a “filler” wool to make sure that I have plenty of background wool to finish up!!!
      ….. (the change in background is actually between the large tulip and the spiral flower and includes the circle with the dark center…you can just see the line between the light upper circle and the circle with the dark center!)
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  2. I love hearing how you approach your rugs. It justifies my own approach…Particularly the frog/tomato thing you describe! I don’t think anyone could follow my “pattern” but me! AND I photograph my progress each day. It is fun to see how it progresses. Your hooking is so neat and smooth.

    Mine is either too tight or too loose depending on the cut of the wool I am trying to destash. I am really down to the dregs this time around so some wool is really “hard” like from a coat, some is fine and some is just right. But I will persevere with this one last wormy rug and then throw the rest to the birds, just in time for nesting season. It has been really fun being a part of this group! Perhaps we will meet again in another group.

Leave a Reply

