Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug-Day 11

Yesterday and this morning, I had a chance to do a little more on my Grumpy Lions rug…making some decisions and changing some things!  🙂

I have changed the colour of two of the small motifs in the faded brick red area…changing a green curl to gold and taking out the 2 blues in the tulip and replacing them with a faded gold, tan, orange soft plaid that does not stand out much.   I found that, with the blue border right under the brick red, I did not need to bring down any blue for a motif there.   In fact, it was distracting!   So out it came.  LOL

Also, I worked on the red tulip that marks the upper center of the center section of the rug…I enlarged the tulip a bit and used a red that I really wanted to use!!!   I have used the red in the “bud or berry” on the right side of the center section on the end of the green stem.   The red sinks into the brown background so it will not be too bright or “in your face”!!!   LOL  ( I don’t want it to jump out and grab the viewer but I really wanted to use that red!!!!!!)   Sooooo…unless it spoils the whole rug (!!!) the red will stay!!!! 

So here is the progress on Day 11… Happy Hooking!   Sunnie  🙂

Grumpyday11Grumpyday11S

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

1 thought on “Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug-Day 11”

Leave a Reply

