Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug-Day 14

Doing borders is fun for me!!!   I often make them up as I go!!!!!   LOL   🙂

Now I know I tell you why I do some of the things I do…and you probably are saying to yourself, “Why doesn’t she cut the chatter and get to the hooking???”   LOL    New rug hookers especially are interested in what we “old hookers” do…so we try to pass along some of the things that help us in our work!   I have learned a lot from rug hookers of all ages and experience!!!   So I love information! 

But I really do get questions occasionally like…”How do you decide what colours to use where?” Or, “Why did you put a different design there instead of the one you had drawn?”   Or, “Have you lost your mind…what old age home did you escape from???”   LOL 

I know I always say it (!!) but my rug hooking goals are simply to have fun, to experiment, to be surprised, to please myself and to learn something on each rug I do!   I do the things that make those goals possible.   I have no stress, no worry, no doubts, and no regrets about my work.   I try to do the best I can at the time I am hooking the piece.   What does it matter if I could do a “better” job now…on a rug I hooked in 2007?    If it really spoils my whole life to look at that rug, I can either give it away, pull out all the wool strips and give them to the birds or take my design and hook it again with my “new and improved”  (HA!) style!!!!!   LOL

Today…the reasons for doing my first Border the way I am doing it are simple. 

1.   There is a lot going on with the center section under the Lions…so the Border at the bottom is a simpler design.

2.   Since this rug has many quiet darker colours and colours of similar value, I thought using a couple of lighter colours on the left and right sides of the first Border would act like “pillers” on each side of a doorway.   I can always replace them if I find they don’t please me when the rug is mostly done.

3.   I am trying to use up more of my leftover woolworms here too…so my Border colour choices reflect this.

4.   There are many reasons why I change a motif or design while I am hooking on this rug or any other.   Sometimes, I just think a different leaf shape would be more graceful..!   Sometimes I have drawn my motifs too close together and I want more space between them.   Sometimes I just change a motif or colour because I have changed a lot of my design before I get to another part of the rug…and it just makes sense to me!

Here is my Progress on Day 14…   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Grumpyday14This is the bottom border below:

Grumpyday11SYou can see a lot is going on with the brown-green-brick red in the center section…so the border is simpler.

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

Leave a Reply

