Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug-Day 16

I hope you all had a lovely Easter weekend with family and friends!  

I didn’t hook much over the weekend…too busy… so got to work this morning and decided what I’ll do for the outside border.   I thought about a lot of designs but many of them just added so many motifs, or they were just plain or just bars of colour and I wanted something a little different.   So I am trying this one!   🙂  

I am using leftovers to hold the triangle places and just using different colours until I see what I like after the center is finished.   If several colours are too distracting, I can make the triangles all soothing greens or golds, etc.   Or use only red as accent…many choices!!!!

Oh, another thing…I like the lighter border colour and if I run a bit short of the wool plaid I have chosen, I can steal from the inner border and just choose another colour to place behind the 2 orangy flowers!!!!   I like to have a “Plan B”!!!   LOL   (I may change the background strips behind the orange flowers anyway…even if I have enough wool as I think it might look better that way!)   I DO love to experiment..!!!

So here is progress on Day 16…  Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Grumpylionsday16

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

One thought on “Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug-Day 16”

  1. Sunnie, it’s looking beautiful. Very cheery…

    I spent a nice quiet Easter at home between work schedule , church and breakfast with friends and I even rested as I was tired that day.

    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

