Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug-Day 17

Well, I am having a good laugh at myself this morning!!!   Yesterday’s post was a perfect illustration of mistakes made by a distracted mind..!   LOL

This has been a difficult month for me as Joe died in April just a year ago.   With the celebration of Easter, families gather together and it is a joyous time of year.   However, those of us who have lost family members or friends this time of year find ourselves with some sadness too.    So we struggle with it as time goes by and we are surrounded by memories.   Thankfully, I have happy memories!!!

As I sat looking at my rug last night  (I have a fabric covered board that I put my rugs on so that I can sit at a distance and look at the rug and the colours I’ve used, etc.) I realized that I was thinking of the right and left sides of the rug and the lighter colours I wanted to use for the first Border on those two sides.   If you remember, I said those two first border sides would be like pillers standing on each side of a door.   I don’t want that light wool going over the top and bottom of the rug…I just want it on the sides!!!!!

But I also realized that I was doing the Outer Border (!!) and I don’t want the lighter wools to be hooked on that Border!!!!   Also, I remembered that I had found another dark-light plaid that I thought would be great for that outer border, different from the rug center background but still a “dark” frame for the rug!!!   So I laughed at myself for being so distracted that I just did the exact opposite of what I wanted to do!!!!!   LOL

However, this is a great illustration of too much lightness in a border…as this one for an outside “frame” doesn’t really frame or enclose the center section (like I want to do!) .    I don’t usually make mistakes in judgement on my borders…but I sure did on this one!!!   LOL  

I did another border years ago …thankfully, just one side and a corner…and it was just awful.   I thought, and my hooking friends thought also, that the soft black would be a perfect frame!   Not so!!!   Instead of framing the rug, it just screamed “big black border!, big black border!…and the center looked washed out.   I changed it and loved the rug after that.   So you can see my mistakes…and I hope they help you!!!   LOL

.I zipped out that light (I can use it elsewhere in my rug!) and put in the plaid that I had wanted to use when going through my stash!   I think it works much better and softens the colours in the triangles too!  

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

So here is Progress on Day 17…

GrumpylionsDay17

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

1 thought on “Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug-Day 17”

  1. Hi Sunnie, I’m sorry that you got so distracted and understandably so, but I can’t see any mistake on your border. It all looks so good. I need a before and after picture to see what you mean about making a mistake.

    I’m so looking forward to seeing your rug all hooked up.
    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

