Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug-Day 18

I’ve corrected my mistake and am happy to have the outer Border like I want it…!!!   Hooray!!!   🙂

The rug is almost half finished…I need to hook the Outer Border on the Bottom of this right half of the rug before I can say the Grumpy Lions is half finished.   Even though I drew my pattern as a “mirror image”, each half will be slightly different!   Of course, you knew that…I can’t leave anything alone!!!!!   LOL

In this photo, you can see the 2 borders…

the inner Border has the light background on the right side of the rug  (I am working on the right half of the rug)  and the outer Border will have the Dark background all  the way around the rug.

Again…this is a quiet rug but it has a lot going on in the way of motifs!   I am trying for a slightly “faded” look…like it might have had brighter colours but is now older and somewhat faded…!!!   It is kind of funny that we make rugs to look “already old”!!!   But a lot of our primitives or folk art pieces are done just that way.

The picture is lightened a bit so you can see the different brown background colours…the real difference does not show up so much “in person”…the browns just look very similar!   (both brown backgrounds are plaids)

Progress today is the Outer Border on the top of the rug and the corrected Outer border on the right side of the rug!   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie  🙂    (my mistake is on the lower picture!!!)

GrumpyLionday18Grumpylionsday16

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

1 thought on “Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug-Day 18”

Leave a Reply

