Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug/Day 25

For the last week or so I have had only a little time here and there to work on my rug…so didn’t show you the little bits of rug that I got in from time to time!!!!   lol   But now the “little bits” have merged to good progress, so I can post a more interesting picture for today than a section of background or a couple of dots!!!!!!   🙂

The guys are really grumpy now!     You know that for most of the rugs I do that are my own creations, I have a story behind them.   For this one, I have told you a part of the story already!  (here’s a bit more of the story)

I just know that the two Lions were walking in the jungle one day and both thought that it would be great if someone would hook them into a rug.   Now, of course, you know that besides the “jet stream” curving around the world, there is also a “thought stream” doing the same thing!!   Unfortunately, instead of the Lion’s thoughts about a strong, manly, ferocious and regal rug falling on someone who would follow through with that concept, the thought fell on one of the goofier rug hookers!!!!   

Sooooo….instead of a strong,  realistic “King of the Jungle” rug creation, the guys landed instead in a rug where they find themselves pictured in a “cutesy”, “flowery” rug with, of all things, two uppity birds!!!!!   Because I wanted this rug to be “whimsical” and “funny”!    The Lions are not amused. 🙂

 As I work each day, the poor guys get grumpier and grumpier!!!!   lol      Not only are they pictured framed in flowers,  they are flowers in Vases (!)…baby blue vases!   You can almost hear them saying “Phooey”!

I’m having a great time doing this whimsical rug…and I’m sure that the Lions are being hooked realistically as Kings of the Jungle by someone out there!   And I am sure they are happier on that rug!!!!   LOL

Here is my Progress on Day 25…     Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

I have lightened the second picture so you can better see the plaids I am using in the different areas!!! 

Grumpyday25Grumpyday25light

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “Grumpy Lions Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive rug/Day 25”

  1. Oh Sunnie, it all looks very lovely but you are such a tease… You tease us with just little snippets of rug pictures now and then and you are also teasing those two poor grumpy lions. lol. I bet you that they are just pets… and that’s why you can get away with it.

    Hurry up, I want to see the whole picture…
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Yes…the poor guys (and the blog visitors too!!!) just get the snippets!!! lol But it is almost finished so it won’t be long until the whole rug is shown!!!! I’m off to the Hookity Do Dah today…it should be fun!!!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

