New Mystery Rug Design Almost Ready/Sunnie/rug hooking-2014

Hooray!   The new design is being readied to transfer to the linen!   This will be a “real” Mystery Rug…just like I have done them in the past…with you having no idea of the finished design!   : )

I will probably give you the “hint” of the first letters of the title…but unlike the Grumpy Lions…you will NOT know what the theme of the rug really is!  

I will tell you what I had intended to hook this time…because what I came up with in my very, very convoluted way for the final design is not anything like what I thought I’d do!!!!!   lol

After doing the Grumpy Lions and having fun with them…I thought I would do something quite different with colour and theme.   Since Grumpy had used lots of browns, golds, orangy reds, etc. I thought I would try something “foresty” and cool with deep greens and blue-greens and a mysterious “something” in the forest.  

Some years ago, I led a challenge on Rug Hooking Daily called “Forest Secrets”.   The participants could do any size or shape they wanted to do but they had to put into their designs…a rock, a ring and a touch of royal purple!   We had wonderful rugs and mats done!!!   Such fun.   (My design was a take off on ‘the legend of the green man”…called “The Watcher”.)

SunWatcherc

But due to the type of designing and planning I do (being open to ideas that just pop into my mind, having a moment of madness or loving something I see in one of my art books!!!)    I often get waaaay off the original design theme.   So you DO have a hint…this rug will Not be a “forest” rug!!!!!   🙂

I am hoping to start this one by the upcoming weekend…so get your calming music out and your de-stressing exercises so that you will not want to run screaming from the computer when you visit here.   (I know I often run screaming from the computer when I have to post pictures of these things I do!!!!!)   LOL

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug Design Almost Ready/Sunnie/rug hooking-2014”

  1. I remember that rug. That was a lot of fun. I was scared to death of getting myself in trouble and ideas were flying in and out of my head and I finally settled on something out of my childhood. I never binded that little rug yet.

    Once I had my design on burlap, it was easy going.
    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

