A visit to the Latimer Quilt and Textile Center/Sunnie/rug hooking

 

I am still working on my new design to get it all transferred to my backing!    I’ll get it started soon!!!   🙂

I wanted to let you all know…those who are near to Tillamook, Oregon or will be passing by this way in the next few weeks! …about the hooked rug exhibit at the Latimer Center.

Whoops!   Forgot to mention that the exhibit is on through June 21, 2014…cost, open times and phone # is on the website!

My daughter and I had a very nice visit to the Center yesterday and enjoyed all of the things that the Latimer has to offer.   (The trip was a Mother’s Day gift from my daughter as she knew I wanted to see the exhibit.)  🙂

Many of the ladies I now hook with in Oregon had their rugs included…and all of the rugs were beautifully done!   Everything from florals to landscapes to portraits and more was included.   We enjoyed reading the descriptions of the rugs and why they were the maker’s favourite pieces.     In the glass cases, there was also a nice informational presentation of dyed wools, backings and other accessories involved in rug hooking.

the address of the Center is:

2105 Wilson River Loop Road,  Tillamook, OR 97141  – and the website is:   http://www.latimerquiltandtextile.com

Please do not expect a huge building, all glass and chrome (!!) like a big museum!  

This is a very nice collection of textiles gathered together in a former schoolhouse in Tillamook!    It has a charm and feel of the past and as we enjoy the quilts, weaving, rugs and other fiber art, we can think about those whose hands have done these pieces and be thankful that we have been able to see and enjoy them.

I hope you can visit!!!   Happy Hooking…and visiting!!!   Sunnie  : )

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “A visit to the Latimer Quilt and Textile Center/Sunnie/rug hooking”

  1. Thank you for the ‘plug’ about the rug display at Latimer. I’m one of the local hooker’s, we had a good time putting up the show.
    So glad you and your daughter enjoyed your time in Tillamook.

Leave a Reply

