AO June Mystery Rug 2014/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 8

Well at least I am giving you a little more information today!!!!   lol

I have finished the lower left corner of the center design…but I have not designed the borders yet.   I need to look at the rug for a bit before deciding on the borders…just as I did with the Grumpy Lions!    

I am happy with my design so far and with my colour choices.   As I said when I started the piece…I wanted the jewel colours to “glow” against the black/dark background and as I stand back and look at the rug from a distance, I think it works well.

I believe I told you that I use a piece of plywood and hang my “in progress” rug on it with clothespins so I can stand back and look at it critically!   The way my apartment is set up, I can stand in the kitchen area and look across the dining area into the living room where the plywood leans against a chair…and can see the rug from quite a distance away!   I love this as it really helps to spot errors before they get too far gone!!!!!   🙂   Also, if I am having company, I just zip the plywood piece into the “wool” room and out of sight!

So here is Progress on Day 8…as you know, I like to do background and borders as I go…but now I have to design at least the left side border!!!!!!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

AOmysteryDay8You can see again the colour change here from the black to the deep burgundy background.  

Do you remember this mystery rug…I WAS hooking a Bird on this one.   This is one of my 24 x 24 inch series rugs!   There are feathers on my new mystery rug too but they are not really attached to a bird!!!   lol

MajestyB

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

3 thoughts on “AO June Mystery Rug 2014/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 8”

  1. Sunnie,
    Well I got that you had feathers in this rug, but guessed wrong on it being a bird. I remember that wonderful “Majesty” rug. It was one of my favorites!!
    I keep retrying to use my “little grey cells” to figure out another guess.

    trisha

    My mystery question to you is:
    What famous detective talked about using his “little grey cells” in solving a crime?

Leave a Reply

