AO June Mystery Rug 2014/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 10

Today I am going to start telling you about this rug design experiment and why I am doing what I’m doing!!!! 🙂
As you know, I enjoy taking inspiration from the past and I know that when I am dealing with images in the public domain , long out of copyright or permission-free images from books for artists and craftspeople I am not infringing upon anyone’s contemporary designs!!!

In my previous rug, “Grumpy Lions”, I started with a fraktur image that I discarded in favour of my own lion drawing, added my own designs, those I saw on antique textiles and anything that just popped into my mind as I was hooking the rug! lol

I have fun combining my own drawings with those from many different sources…for instance in the photo below, there is a fraktur drawing from the 1800’s, a leaf drawing from a free crewel work pattern book, a medieval “fish and fire” design and a man design from a 19th century Russian stove tile! If I were creating a rug from those different units, I would have to decide if I could use my own additional designs and colours to pull everything together in a way that pleases me.
BLOGdiscuss 001

For the rug I am creating now, we are going back into the past…and I am experimenting to see if I can put some elements together from different but similar sources to create a rug “in the style of” the art I am working with. But my creation won’t be the “actual” art type but I want it to give the feeling that it IS!!! lol
I have chosen colours that I want to work with and, as I said yesterday, I wanted the motifs to stand out against the dark background and “glow”. 🙂
This may not make sense to you (!!!)…but think of it a little like I told you I was trying to paint “in the manner of” Monet but I wasn’t REALLY using his technique! But I wanted to see if the final result made you THINK of Monet when you saw it…!!!! lol

So here is Progress on Day 10…I am going around the corner on the left side of the rug and going to try today to design the left hand border! Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂
AOmysteryDay10

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

1 thought on “AO June Mystery Rug 2014/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 10”

  1. You are really truly an artist and it shows in the thoughts and panning that goes into every one of your pieces.
    Well done.
    Thanks for sharing your thought process. So different than my simple way of thinking.
    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

