AO June Mystery Rug 2014/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 11

Here is second picture…I am trying to have a dark background with the red rather blending into the background. The actual wool has less contrast between the red and the deep blue than this picture shows. Here we go…

AOday11Aextra

Quick-ish post this morning because I have only a small section started of the left hand border to show you!!! Most of my hooking time yesterday was taken up with trying out “ideas” (!!!) for the border!!! 🙂

I thought up several designs myself, looked through mountains of books on borders, looked through art books, stitchery books and even a couple of books on insects!!! (I thought that maybe several insects crawling up the left side on a border would be fun!) LOL

Finally, I did what we all do…(!!!) actually thought about what I wanted the border to DO!!! Duh..!
I decided that simple was the best idea…and so I started cutting paper!!! I find that cutting up leftover paper from all the junk mail we get or copy paper mistakes, etc. works great for trying out images for rugs. I just pin them on the backing and stand back and look! If they are really yucky…I throw them out..! If they have “possibilities”…I keep them and choose the one I like best to try.

So although I would LIKE to tell you that my mind is SO organized that I can just take a quick look and decide on the border design quickly (!!!)…it just doesn’t happen that way! lol

So here is my Simple border design for this rug and I am happy with it so far. It has allowed me to have a subtle frame for the center without being overpowering and allowed me to add another background colour into the mix!!! You can see the black to deep burgundy change on this photo and I will try to post another photo today when I get more border background finished.

So here is PRogress on Day 11…Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂
AOmysteryday11
And here is the photo lightened to show the wool colours…can you see the “deep blue-ish” cast on the border wool in the lightened picture?

MysteryLIGHT

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “AO June Mystery Rug 2014/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 11”

  1. You’re skipping along on this rug. It looks like green ears and colorful shoulders on a mystical animal.
    I couldn’t help myself from guessing.That’s the name of the game isn’t it?

    I’ve been weeding and now I have to return to the farm.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. You are getting closer Julia…!!! A great guess!!!
      I am really having fun with this as I get into it and can see more of what I am creating!!!!! lol
      Happy Weeding!!! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

