AO June Mystery Rug 2014/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 14

 

I don’t add to your information much today as I worked on my left side border for today’s post.   It is not the most interesting which is why I am getting it done as I go along!!!!!   lol   I have said before that just doing the background or a rather plain border is not my first choice of things to hook !   So I like to get it well on the way to completion before coming to the rug finish.  🙂

Concerning this rug I am hooking…I think it is important to mention that we can all move a bit out of our comfort zone from time to time and stretch ourselves…just to see if we can do something we’ve said we “can’t do”!  I really did not see myself doing this type of design…it just isn’t my “style”.  But as I said before, I am trying to use it as a springboard and present it in my style!!!   So we will see how the experiment works out.

I have always told myself (and others!!!) that I “don’t do” this or I ” don’t do that kind of hooking”, etc…you have heard me say that I “don’t do realism”, for instance!!!!!   And yet, the portrait of my father as a young man was a very satisfying piece for me to do.   Yes, I pulled strips out, yes, I didn’t feel very confident and yes, I wondered if I would come out with anything even remotely resembling my father!!!!   lol   But it stretched me in terrific ways I wouldn’t have experienced if I hadn’t tried.

One of the things I enjoy about a rug “challenge” is that I just let my imagination play…even reaching to the most ridiculous or silliest themes and designs.   But in doing this, I often come up with a design that isn’t really ridiculous OR silly…but a design that I love doing!  

For instance, if I gave you all a picture of an old fashioned shoe… and said “Use this shoe and design a rug around it that is any size, any shape, any colour…just what you want to do!”…we might have these results from the participants:

A rug featuring many different kinds of shoes,
a rug just using the design shoe without anything else,
a rug using the shoe as a vase with flowers,
a rug featuring “the Old Woman who Lives in a Shoe” poem,
a “play on words” Shoo Fly…becoming Shoe Fly with, of course, a flying shoe,
a village scene with a shoe shop and the sign outside is the shoe design,
perhaps a large chicken wearing a pair of the design shoes,
a car with a “Just Married” sign on the back and tied to the bumper would be a whole string of the design shoe….it can go on and on!!!  

Just sitting and thinking about all the possibilities is a good mental exercise.   For me, since I am an old lady (!!!)  mental exercise is supposed to be good for me, keep me from going gaga (!) and keep my mind sharp!!!!    lol   But even for you young people…mental exercise (without electronic help (!!!!)… is great.   🙂

So whatever your art or craft may be…go ahead and try that design you’ve been thinking about but seemed out of  your “comfort zone”!!!   It might be a disaster (!!!) or you might have a grand time with the journey and the result.

Here ends the first lesson…lol…!   Here is Progress on Day 14…I might have another post later in the day!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

AOMysteryDay14

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

1 thought on “AO June Mystery Rug 2014/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 14”

  1. A good lesson today Sunnie. This rug is getting more intriguing as the days goes by. Today it looks like a horse with a rather smooth nuzzle. hahaha or is that a back???
    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

