AO JUne Mystery Rug 2014/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 16

Hooray!   I finally had some time to hook today…so completed the left side of the rug!!!   That was a lot of “deep blue black” wool!!!  🙂

I’ll explain a bit about what I am doing with this border.  

You will notice that the border motifs are not done the same way.   I could have done them in a more “ordered” manner but with this rug, I wanted to have some “looseness” in the design.   The dots are not done in any particular way and they are just sketched on so they are not precise.    They are not in the same order and the larger red motifs are similar but there is one where the green accent is a round dot and not a teardrop shape.   Precision is not what I want here…it would mess up my experiment..!

The bird at the bottom of the border is done so he looks a little “off” and a little confrontational..!   Making the lower beak jutting out longer than the upper beak and placing the eye down lower than usual gives that rather belligerent effect.  : )   This is not a “sweet” bird..!!!!    lol

I now have hooked 6 eyes on this rug and will hook a 7th as I get to the right hand side!   There are 4 “confrontations” going on in this piece…and I think that at least four of the participants have read the book “Winning Through Intimidation”!  (by Robert Ringer!!!!)   lol      You will understand this when you see the completed rug.   Of course you know that with me, there has GOT to be some silliness, whimsy and humour in this piece… and there is!!!    I am having a great time!!! 

So here is Progress on Day 16…I hope to have another part of the rug to show you tomorrow but I doubt if it will help you very much in knowing just what in the dickens I am doing!!!!!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂AOMysteryDay16

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

6 thoughts on “AO JUne Mystery Rug 2014/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 16”

    1. I hope everyone will laugh (or at least smile!) along with me when I come to the finish.
      I find this rug quite funny even though the experiment I am doing starts with some precise and serious motifs when in their own art environment. lol (Well that sentence sounds pretty “LaDeDah”!!!!!!!) 🙂 But what does it all Mean?????
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  1. Sunnie,
    You and your rugs always bring a smile to my face. That part you showed today leaves me to believe this is not a little puny rug. Just for giggles, remind me of how large it will be.
    thanks,
    trisha

Leave a Reply

