AO June Mystery Rug 2014/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 20

Today’s post is a little odd (!!!) but at least it has nice colours!!!!!!   lol

I am doing a lot of filling in background as I go…I have a fairly large motif left to do that will take some time, so I want to get background hooked.    I don’t want it all waiting for me at the finish..!!!   🙂

Although I had a larger amount of the deep burgundy plaid used in the background on the left side of the rug, I am using just a line of the burgundy between the black interior background and the blue-black outer border on the top, bottom and right side of the piece.   On a rug such as this, where I am designing and deciding what to do for many of the final motifs, I also have to think of balance and adjust things accordingly.   Also, I am now looking closely at colours and seeing how my first choices work with the motifs and background I am hooking now.   (And re-doing what needs changing)

I am hoping to finish this rug sometime later next week…(!!)…so I am looking forward to seeing the entire design hooked..!  

Here is Progress on Day 20…I will be telling more about the rug next week, and why I did what I did with the design!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

The picture today looks like some ocean creature…but it is NOT A Octopus!!!!!!!   lol

AOMysteryday20

 

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

3 thoughts on “AO June Mystery Rug 2014/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 20”

Leave a Reply

