Ancient Ornament June Mystery rug/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 23

Hey…you knew it all the time!!!   The name of this rug is “Ancient Ornament”…and I have gone back into the far past for this design.   🙂   (about the 8th century to the 14th century)

Most of us have some knowledge of Celtic art as we have seen metalwork, woodwork, needlework, etc. using the wonderful interlacing patterns and Celtic knots…often for borders!    There are beautiful illuminated pages with elaborate decoration.   The drawing is precise and the artistry is magnificent.  I do not have the talent it would take to learn this method of drawing by myself and even with a master teacher, it would take me many years of hard work to even come close to creating something even close to such a masterpiece!   So I admire and enjoy it…but I do not attempt to actually DO it..!

 Many, if not most, of these illuminated manuscripts have religious significance…but I am not using the design motif I have chosen in that way.   

I have admired the artistry of the illuminated manuscripts for a very long time.   But setting aside the religious aspects and the “deeper meaning” of the symbols used in these pieces, there are the images that have a whimsical and humorous aspect..!!!    And knowing me, those would be the motifs that appeal to me!  🙂   Many of the figures in the manuscript pages are quite fantastic…and I love them purely for what they are!   lol 

You see this type of art coming from many countries over many centuries! 

Remember I told you that I was going to try to do an artistic design that was very precise and structured…but I said that I was going to do it Without following that method.   What I have done is to take a couple of the celtic design motifs, add my own drawings and embellishments and put them together in my “folk art” style!  

 Nothing is precise, designs are mostly just sketched on as I went along and there is no geometric structure!

So here is Progress on Day 23…and I probably will have the rug finished in the next two or three days!  

I am glad to have had you along for the adventure…and more information coming along tomorrow!!     

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

AOmysteryrugday23

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

5 thoughts on “Ancient Ornament June Mystery rug/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 23”

Leave a Reply

