Ancient Ornament June Mystery Rug 2014/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 24

Wow…was the weather hot yesterday!!!!!   We were in the 90’s so I did not hook a lot..!!!   But I did get Some work done…!!!  lol

Quick post this morning…and since it is cooler today (we had 90’s yesterday!!!) I can really sit down and enjoy my hooking!  🙂

If you look at yesterday’s post you will see the same area of the rug but with my additions and changes!  

I did need to hook background and border as well as making those changes to the motif.    You will see that I changed my mind about just having the one line of the deep burgundy on this side of the rug,  and I decided to use some of that burgundy for background here in the upper right just as I did on the upper left.   Sitting back and looking at the rug from a distance is so helpful…I keep saying that but it helps me so much in my decisions!!!   🙂

I started telling you yesterday about the rug and some of what I am doing!  

I have told you about some “conflicts” in the piece and in my designing I decided to add a little (!!!) silliness to the rug and make that conflict quite childish between 6 of the motifs!  The center motif, coming from the celtic design, is a more serious conflict…until you look closely at it.   Then you may smile, as I did, to realize that a peaceful solution is the only way to solve the problem..!   The little naughty bird is playing a rather dangerous game…and if the center problem is solved, he might be “in a heap of trouble”!!!!!

Here is my “Ancient Ornament” Rug  Progress on Day 24…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

AOmysteryrugday24

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “Ancient Ornament June Mystery Rug 2014/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 24”

  1. I’m just about useless today again in this sweltering humid heat. It 34 degree Celcius or 93.2 F. here with a high humidity so it feels much hotter. Can’t even guess today. I’m resigned to waiting like a good old girl. But hurry up and get that rug done before I die of heat exhaustion, lol.

Leave a Reply

