Ancient Ornament June Mystery Rug 2014/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 25

I am really enjoying working on something besides dark background and borders!!!!!   lol

I don’t have too much more to go before being finished… Hooray!!!!!…but I am going to take the 4th of July weekend off and  I’ll post the picture of the finished rug on Monday, June 7th!  🙂

This really has been one of the most enjoyable rugs I have ever done…and if you had told me a few years ago that I would even use celtic art in a rug I probably would have laughed and said that I loved the art but didn’t think I would try something like this myself..!!!

I also have another rug in the works…a smaller piece in the 24 x 24 inch format that I will be posting in July !

Also, starting sometime in July, I will be starting another rug “experiment” for a mystery piece!!   This time,  I am gathering some wools that I want to use and experiment with…and will design a rug to suit the colours!!!!   lol 

Rather a backwards way of doing a rug!!!!   But I know, knowing me, that you are not in the least surprised..!!

Now a little more information on this rug…

In my Ancient Ornament rug,  you will find that I have hooked two right feet…in the Egyptian style…and have used feathers on motifs other than birds.   That naughty little bird doesn’t have feathers!   The positions of the central design figures are really impossible (!!!) and quite funny!   

You will understand why I have hooked 4 of the motifs acting out that childish rudeness when you see the center…I just couldn’t resist it.   (Well, I didn’t try very hard..!!!)   lol

So here is Progress on Day 25… Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂   I just Love the colours I am using…they are so pleasing to me and I believe that they really celebrate the motifs I have chosen!

AOmysteryrugday25

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

3 thoughts on “Ancient Ornament June Mystery Rug 2014/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 25”

  1. This feels like waiting for a grandchild to be born. I’m in no pain or discomfort but the waiting is long, haha.
    I can imagine how you are having fun with this rug. The little I can se looks so colorful.
    Happy 4th of July Sunnie and thanks for sharing (even small segments) of your mystery rug with us.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Thank you, Julia…Joe took that photo while I was hooking outside in Vermont. It’s my “Good dog Dan” rug!
      I look peaceful because I am out of my mind..!!! Ha Ha! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

